Die Cuttin’ Divas Out With the Old, In with the New challenge

I am always so honored to do a Guest Designer post for Die Cuttin’ Divas!  Thank you for having me again.  The theme of this challenge is Out With the Old, In with the New.  I love it!  This time of year is perfect for using up old supplies to make way for new ones.  The goal of this project is to use something new you got for Christmas and something old, or something old and new to you on the project.  This is what I did:

_P1070375web

It looks like two cards, doesn’t it?  Well, it’s really 19 cards!!  As Inigo Montoya said in The Princess Bride, “let me ‘splain.”  I was scrambling in mid-December to finish making and sending out my Christmas cards, and I vowed to be done way ahead of time next year.  I set a goal for myself to make 100 cards for 2014 (see ticker on right) so I went looking for ways to make multiples, and came across an idea that’s new (to me, anyway) called One Sheet Wonders.  It’s a way for you to get the most out of your patterned paper with little waste by following a template for cutting.  I used this one from Seongsook’s Creations.  The patterned paper is from a 6 x 6 Recollections pack called The Bright and Basic Pad.  It has 180 papers in it.  I don’t think I’ll EVER use it up!!  This paper is old; I bought it at least two years ago.

The penguins are also old.  I cut them out a few years ago with my Cricut and SCAL using a doodle font from Lettering Delights called Chill Out.  I used my new Silhouette Cameo (Christmas present!!) to cut out the Christmas Wish and Merry Christmas tickets, which are old.  They are digital stamps that I downloaded from who knows where on December 22, 2010 at 7:55 A.M.

Want to see some more of the cards?  (If you need a closer look, click on them.)

The Hello Kitties are both old and new.  They’re old because the picture has been sitting on my computer for a couple of years, and they’re new because I printed and cut them with the Silhouette!

Now it’s your turn to show us what you’ve got — the old and the new!  Link up your project at Die Cuttin’ Divas!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Die Cuttin’ Divas Out With the Old, In with the New challenge

  1. Loved reading your blog this morning detailing all the old and new you used. And wow, all the cards…you got to be “sittin’ pretty knowing so many cards for next season are done. So glad you are enjoying your Christmas toy tools from your DH and paper packs from children.

  2. Migdalia says:

    Congrats on your GDS over at DCD!! I love the idea on using the same pattern paper on multiple projects. this is why I have a scrap box. I am going to incorporate this idea in my 2014 crafty goals.
    They are all ADORABLE!!
    Have a wonderful day,
    Migdalia
    Crafting With Creative M

  3. Pat N. says:

    Wow, Evelyn, thanks for the terrific idea of mass producing! Lucky you to have such a jump start on this year’s Christmas cards already! That’s unheard of! Glad you could be our Guest Diva this week at DCD. All your cards are adorable!

  4. Crafty Moni says:

    Cute cards! Great job as a guest designer:) Thanks for the inspiration, I just linked up:)

    Peace, Love, & Cricut Hugs!
    Monica L.

    moni023 at yahoo dot com

  5. What a beautiful collections of cards. THanks so much for joining us as a Guest Designer this week at DCD.

  6. goc1122 says:

    such a fun fun set of cards. A wonderful Guest diva for us!!

Leave a Reply

