Gobble ’til you Wobble challenge

We’re talking turkey today at My Paper Crafting.   Oh, how fun!  Gobble ’til you Wobble.  It happens to me every Thanksgiving — everything looks so good, I overstuff myself and have to wobble away from the table.  Worth it!!  Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday!  What’s yours?

Okay – on to my project.  It’s a card because that’s what I needed.

We needed to make a project with a turkey on it.  I knew I wanted to commemorate the Thanksgiving meal, not the animal, so I looked and found this cute file of a Bear With Cake Slice and Flowers

and I imagined him with a turkey leg instead of flowers, and the rest of the turkey instead of the cake!!

Here’s how I made it happen:

The turkey is found on page 44 of Paper Dolls Dress Up.  (accessories 2)  I cut the turkey out two times on the Gypsy – once for the leg the bear is eating and once for the turkey on the platter.

The turkey is found on page 44 of Paper Dolls Dress Up. (accessories 2)

Turkey leg – Used cricut markers to outline, then chose “return to design,” swapped out the marker for the blade, re-adjusted the settings and hit “cut” again.  I just clipped off the leg.

Turkey on platter –  Using the Hide Feature, I hid the parts of the leg that the bear was eating.  I wanted to look like that leg was already gone.  I used cricut markers to outline, then chose “return to design,” swapped out the marker for the blade, re-adjusted the settings.  At this point, I hid all the lines except the outline, and then and hit “cut” again.  After removing the turkey from the mat, I clipped off the protruding bone.

To make the bear, I imported the svg file into Sure Cuts a Lot and ungrouped it.  I deleted the parts I didn’t want to use — the flowers and cake.  I sized the bear, then moved the platter to the side.  I selected the whole bear and copied/pasted him.  With all his parts selected, I chose Path, Union.  That gave me an outline of the bear to use as a base layer.  Turning my attention to the other copy of the bear, I deleted his ears, arms and legs, which I did not need anymore because I now had a base layer to build on.

You can find directions for the stair step card just by googling it.  The Gobble til you Wobble sentiment was just typed on my computer using Greetings font.  The beautiful Thanksgiving title is free this week at My Paper Crafting.  Head on over and check out the other designers’ projects and pick up your Thanksgiving cut title!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper and wool, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gobble ’til you Wobble challenge

  1. Cely(Carolina Girl) says:

    Oh my Goodness….so clever and adorable!!!!

  2. Migdalia says:

    Adorable!!Love the little bear…

Leave a comment