Cards from swaps

I just participated in a Fall Cuts swap hosted by Scrappin’ Sista, Christel.  I got my cuts in the mail today and couldn’t resist creating with them!  I’m super excited for two reasons.  First, the cuts only arrived today and they gathered no dust waiting on my desk to be used (three of them, anyway) and second, because I am one paper away from actually using up a full stack of paper!  Yes, you heard me right!!  I have exactly one uncut sheet of paper left in my DCWV Autumn Splendor stack.  This is a first for me!  You may not know this about me, but I am a paper hoarder.  I buy paper because I need it, or because I have a coupon, or because it’s on the clearance table, or because I happen to be passing Michaels . . .  Then I find it’s too pretty to use and it just sits there in my closet.  But (pat myself on the back) I’ve actually cut into 35 of the 36 sheets of paper that came in that stack.  Yay me!

So, here are the three cards I made today with my swap cuts and that second-to-last paper from my Autumn Splendor pack:

 

That last one, the turkey-owl (towel??) was a freebie from My Scrap Chick.  It was my contribution to the swap.  I also made Thanksgiving cards with that turkey-owl to send to my family.  This was the first time I had made a twisted easel card.  They’re surprisingly easy.  I made sure to send a picture of how to display the card to the recipients!

 

I also wanted to show you a thank you card I made using a cut from my friend, Jayne.  She and I swap cuts every now and then.  I recognized the little panda as being from the Pagoda cartridge, which I also have, but had never made the panda.  I measured him and used my Gypsy to make a shaped card to put him on, and to add the Thanks sentiment:

I really like the green with the black and white.  It looks so fresh!  I love the little googly eyes, but didn’t notice that he’s cross-eyed in this picture!  Jayne, a retired educator, would appreciate that I made this card for my principal!!

I’m feeling quite accomplished!  Only a zillion more papers to go :

EEK!!

Evelyn

 

 

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cards from swaps

  1. Migdalia says:

    LOL…I am the same way with paper and decided that for the holidays I will not buy any new items for crafting purposes but to use last years stash….Wonderful cards.

  2. Cely(Carolina Girl) says:

    You’re singing an old song of my regarding the paper. I too have finally cut into THOSE papers….haha All the cards are wonderful. I have not done a twisted card but now I need to jump on board. I have that little turkey…hummm…I’ll have to put him on my list for next year. New Year’s resolution, make a file for things to definitely make during the New Year.

  3. sherrye says:

    I’m so glad to read yuour blog. I also hord paper, I worked for Michels for 13, before I retired and I stocked Up ! (what an understantement) I could open my own store.It’s all good though, we move to another state and the closest Michaels is almost 200 miles away 😦
    Thanks for sharing
    sherrye, kraftykat157.com

  4. gramjak says:

    Evelyn —
    Love, love, love your wonderful cards! Thanks, too, for the “press notice” about the panda. It’s perfect for a thank you note (especially cross-eyed for an administrator!) LOL!

    The wreath on today’s blog is awesome as well! I plan to attempt some of those for my book club meeting on Monday!

    I have some new cuts to send to you after the holiday weekend! (Keep utilizing all of that paper — I have tons, too!)

Leave a Reply

