Easter-themed challenge

Happy Easter!

I made this Happy Easter, Happy Spring swing card for my aunt.  I don’t usually send Easter cards, but when I received her Christmas card, she asked that I continue to send her “little notes” so that’s what I’m doing.  I thought she would appreciate the little notes being inside of cute, handmade cards!

 

 

I started with an adorable digi stamp from Paper Crafting World called Bear in Sundress with Daisies.  First I printed it out onto card stock at 3 inches. Then I imported the jpg into Sure Cuts A Lot and sized it to 3 inches.  I chose “blackout shadow” and cut that out on a regular piece of printer paper.  At this point, I pressed the load paper button on the Cricut.  I taped one side of the printer paper to the mat, lifted up the other side and removed the cut-out bear.  Then I placed the card stock with the printed bear underneath the hole, carefully lined it up and cut again.  I guess it’s a poor man’s “print and cut!!”   I adapted a technique from Clever Someday‘s hinge method.  It’s a lot easier with Sure Cuts A Lot than just using Cricut as shown in her video because after you load paper again, and press cut, it cuts in the same place!  Real easy (Much easier than it sounds!!)

I made the card itself using an svg from a talented crafter named Penny Duncan.  I would give you a link to the swing card svg, but she explains on her web site that she’s having issues with file storage.  You can find directions on how to make a swing card with just a paper cutter by searching on Google, though.  After you make the few score marks and cuts, you decorate the front of the card, and both sides of the cut-out.  It gets folded like a “z” so the when you open it, the center piece flips.

The paper is from Me and My Big Ideas Travel paper pad, which I picked up for $3.99 on clearance at Michaels.  The only other embellishment I needed was a little bow on the side.

Don’t forget to stop by Paper Crafting World and check out the other design team members’ projects, and to enter your own!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper and wool, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Easter-themed challenge

  1. shesasassylady says:

    This is darling! love the shape and the interactive motion of the card. TFS

  2. Gail says:

    I really like and admire your talent as a card maker. Your Aunt will love it.

  3. Kathleen says:

    How sweet! I am sure she is going to love it!

Leave a comment