Mothers’ Day challenge

My mother served as a nurse in the second World War.  I have some fantastic photos of her in her various army/nurse’s uniforms, but this one is my favorite.  First of all, she was drop-dead GORGEOUS!  You can’t tell from the black and white photo, but she had blue eyes to go with her dark hair.  I love that combination! (Two of my siblings and I inherited my father’s brown eyes; the other three have my mother’s blue eyes!)

The other thing I love about this photo is that she signed it, so it has her handwriting on it.  Weird, though . . . It’s unusual for a right-handed person to sign on the left-hand corner of a photo.  Hmmm. . . .

I created this 8 x 8 scrapbook page loosely based on this sketch from Page Maps:

I used the Flag Frame from Paper Crafting World for this.  It leaves just the right amount of white space for the photo to show through.  (This frame would look great in white with Independence Day fireworks photos, wouldn’t it?)

I wanted the page to be understated.  It’s my style, plus my mother was not flashy!  Everything is neutral with a little pop of color for the Mom title, which is Hancock font.

Be sure to stop by Paper Crafting World to see what the other design team members came up with to honor mothers, and to enter your own Mothers’ Day project for the challenge.  Also, stop back here next Tuesday to see my second project!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mothers’ Day challenge

  1. JustYolie says:

    Your Mom is BEAUTIFUL!!!! I think you look a lot like her!!! Love the layout!! 🙂 🙂

  2. gramjak says:

    Great page — and a beautiful tribute to her service as a WWII Nurse… Lovely woman!

  3. Melin says:

    What a beautifully clean layout! Your mom’s picture certainly takes center stage! I love the look of it. Thank you for the understated elegant and creative inspiration of this treasured keepsake!

  4. That’s beautiful. I love the picture and the page.

Leave a Reply

