Money waterfall card

Someone I work with asked if I’d be willing to  make a money waterfall card for her son’s 30th birthday.  The thought intrigued me.  I really like waterfall cards, but 30 parts?  I searched the internet to find a picture or a file but came up empty.  I decided to take on the challenge and made my own file.  You can pick up the svg in the SCAL forum, here.

The svg is for the pocket with the oval cutout that you put the money in.  You just fold the pocket in half and glue/tape the sides.  You fold the money in thirds and insert it into the pockets.

Thirty pages to the waterfall made it a really long size, even though I placed each piece only about a quarter inch apart.  I had to tape two pieces of card stock together, but the recipient loved it.  The man loves BMW cars, so I included a silhouette of a BMW sports car on the pull mechanism.

I think it would be great for a kid-to-teen birthday.  One thing I would do differently, though, if I make it again would be to photocopy some money and adhere it to the inside-back of the pockets before sealing them on the sides.  That way it would keep the original look of money in the pockets even after the real money is spent.

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper and wool, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Money waterfall card

  1. Sandy says:

    This looks interesting. I’m going to jot this one down to try …. maybe for the holidays.

  2. Barb says:

    What a fun to give and fun to receive card! Thanks for sharing your considerable talents!

Leave a comment