Let it percolate a bit

I hit the jackpot on a trip to Michaels two weeks ago!  They had the Paisley and Pagoda Cricut cartridges on clearance for $9.99 each!  Even though I hadn’t previously thought I’d like to own either of those, I couldn’t pass them by for the price.  I snatched up both, and have been enjoying browsing through their handbooks ever since.

The Card/Tab feature on the Paisley cartridge intrigued me, and I needed a cute pick-me-up/get well card, so I decided to make the one on page 42 of the handbook.  It’s a simple five-petaled flower.  I wanted a nice, bright, sunny color, so I looked through my papers and found two that were yellowish-orange — one from Stampin’ Up, and one from the DCWV Autumn Splendor stack.

I cut out the card/tab and the shift card/tab.  When I layered them, it looked very plain, so I used my Craft-Lite Cutter’s large scallop blade to trim the edges and then chalked them an orange-red.  This is what it looked like.

I couldn’t figure out what to put behind the empty flower space.  I tried lots of different cardstocks – mainly in the red range.  Then I gave up on it for a few days.  Today I decided to take another stab at it.  I held the card next to my papers to try and find a subtle patterned paper that was about the same hue.  I came across a paper  from DCWV Nana’s Nursery – Baby Girl stack that has baby words written in different fonts and colors.  It looked GREAT behind the empty flower shape, and the colors coordinated very nicely.  So I decided that this get well card would work better as a baby card.  The Cricut cuts little slits to show you where you should fold the card.  I threaded thin white ribbon through those slits on the left hand side of the card and tied a bow with long tails.  The long tails kind of remind me of a baby’s christening gown.  I like the way it turned out! 

So the moral of the story is to let it percolate.  If a project just doesn’t look right and you can’t figure out how to fix it, set it aside.  Go back to it in a few days and you’ll see it with fresh eyes.  It may not turn out to be what you initially expected or set out to make, but might serve another purpose and you can still love it!!

I guess it’s back to the drawing board for that Get Well card . . .

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper and wool, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment