Acid Rain Poster

I use lots of visuals to help my students see the big picture and to act as a guide or reminder for them when they explain concepts back to me.  This poster was fun to make; I challenged myself to use only Cricut cartridges, not any other svgs that I have.  I like to use the outlined look instead of a shadow or mat for certain projects, so here’s how I did it. Using my Gypsy, I first “cut” the element with a brown Cricut marker with the speed on medium and the pressure set to low.  When that was finished, instead of choosing “unload mat,” I chose “back to design.”  I hid all the cutting lines except the outline, replaced the marker with a blade, adjusted the speed and pressure and cut the image again.  That gives you an outline around the edges and all the detail lines within the shape are drawn for you.

The poster is laminated and so is the volcano.  It’s attached with velcro.  I also made fire, a factory, and a car to represent pollution from traffic.  The students can choose their favorite one when it’s their turn to explain the causes and effects of acid rain.

Here are a few more pictures:

The files I used are as follows:  Paper Dolls Dress Up – volcano, clouds, raindrops.  Life is a Beach – fish.  Create a Critter – lake.  Give a Hoot – trees.  Going Places – fire, car, and factory.  The factory is really the Cityscape on page 63 with some of the windows hidden.

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper and wool, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment