Cleaning up my scraps

is so much fun!  It happens every time I go to straighten my craft room.  I was just about to throw out some 1×6 scraps of Christmas paper but couldn’t bring myself to do it.  They were all from the same paper pad so they went together.  I put them on a card front, then went looking for a Christmassy die cut in my box of extra die cuts .  I found the perfect one – a stocking.  I placed it on the card front and . . . was underwhelmed.

The stocking got lost amid all those patterned papers.  It needed a mat, but I didn’t remember what cut file was used to make it.  Luckily, I still have some of my original crafting supplies!  I broke out my Magic Matter.Do you have one of these?  You can make a mat of any shape using the magic matters and a pencil.  Or multiple mats!  This is how it works.Turn your shape over and trace around it with one of the little matting circles, then cut by hand.  Ta Da!!Now I like it.  The black mat makes the stocking just pop!  🙂

I then went through my Christmas paper scrap folder and threw out all the blah papers, those that I didn’t love.  Then I started putting together some card fronts for later on.  My plan was to use up all the scraps so I’ll go back to it later.  This is what I have so far:It’s a good start!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cleaning up my scraps

  1. Scrapper69 says:

    AWESOME SAUCE!!! Look at you go girl! Using up even the smallest of scraps! I probably would have just thrown them away! Not You! You’re so creative! I’ve seen that Magic Matter before… but don’t think I’ve ever owned it.. glad you were able to get some use out of it… I agree the black matte shadow makes the stocking POP! Have a great day! 🙂

    Theresa

  2. Love your use of the scrap papers and I have never seen the Magic Matter before so thank you for showing it.

Leave a Reply

