DCD #313 – Any Shape Card

April 26th is Secretary’s Day.  Secretaries are indispensable in any office, business, or school.  Our school is located in two buildings on our campus, so we have two secretaries.  Although I see nothing wrong with the term secretary, they prefer to be called Administrative Assistants nowadays, so that’s what I used for Die Cuttin’ Divas‘ Any Shape Card challenge.  But I gave a nod to the old fashioned term by using a retro phone for my cards!  🙂

This gorgeous phone was from SVGcuts.  It must have been a freebie, but it’s not on their site anymore.  I made two of these cards, one for each AA.

Did your family ever have a telephone like this?  It’s fun to remember what it was like when there were no cell phones attached to everyone’s hips.  When I first memorized our family’s telephone number, it was “Lambert 5-4323” or LA5-4323.  That morphed into 525-4323.  And it was a dial phone.  We also had a party line.  That meant that when you picked up the receiver to make a call, you either got a dial tone or you heard one of your neighbors’ phone calls.  You had to hang up and try again later.  When the phone rang, you said, “Hello” because you didn’t know who was calling.  It could be someone calling for you or another family member, or it might be a wrong number.  “Who’s calling, please?”  Our phone was in the kitchen, the heart of the home.

Check out the other cards over at Die Cuttin’ Divas, then link your own!  Shape cards are fun to make, and fun and surprising for the recipients.

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DCD #313 – Any Shape Card

  1. Lola says:

    I love your shaped card – and love your story of letters in your phone number and the “party” line even more!

  2. Cely says:

    Love it. I’m saving several for future casing!

  3. Love this card and love your background story to it.

  4. Scrapper69 says:

    Wonderful Shaped card… We use to have a phone like that… it was bright yellow! hahahaha.. aahhh the good old days! 🙂

    Theresa
    Theresa’s Crafty Creations

Leave a Reply

