Stick it Down – April 2017

Here is this month’s card sketch from Stick it Down sketch challenge blog.  I vacillated between making a shaker and trying a new inking technique and decided to do the inking.  I have so many stamps and inks and distress inks that hardly ever get used, so I’ve been eager to work with them.  Unity Stamp Company has tons of Quick Tips that are around 1 minute long showing and explaining how to do different techniques, and I followed this one for my card.  I love how it turned out!

It’s a birthday card for a friend of mine.  I used Lil’ Inkers Stitched Rectangle dies for the inside “frame.”  It’s hard to see in this picture, but it is stitched.  To make the colored panel, I started with a piece of cardstock.  (I think next time I’ll try water color paper because the inks didn’t blend as nicely as I’d like them to.)  The butterfly and sentiment are A Lovely Butterfly Day by Unity Stamps, stamped with Memento Tuxedo Black Ink.  Then inks from Tim Holtz were added (Distress inks in Chipped Sapphire, Broken China, Pine Needles, and Shabby Shutters.)

The next step didn’t work as well for me as it did for Angeline at Unity.  I used my water-filled pen to “color in” the butterfly.  It was supposed to remove some of the color so that the stamped image was highlighted.  It didn’t work for me, so I brought out my watercolor paints and did a little fussing with it.  It wasn’t the look I was going for, but I do like how it looks!  The last step was to make the water drops.  That worked beautifully!  Squirt water on your hands and clap!  🙂

I cut down the pretty panel, a little offset to match the sketch, mounted it on black card stock, and added the black stitched frame.  Inside there’s a white panel for writing on and a stamped Happy Birthday.

Hope you can join us this month at Stick it Down for either the card sketch, single page scrapbook layout, or double page!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stick it Down – April 2017

  1. Migdalia Rodriguez says:

    I love the pretty background! Beautiful card!

  2. I love the background and your butterfly looks lovely.

  3. Scrapper69 says:

    The background is GORGEOUS!!! I so LOVE it… 🙂

    Theresa
    Theresa’s Crafty Creations

Leave a Reply

