Cut it Up – Out with the Old, In with the New

ciuheader4transparentOur theme this time around at Cut it Up is Out with the Old and In with the New.  We have to use something old and something new on our projects.  Our sponsor is Digital Delights by Louby Loo, and they gave us some really cute images to work with.  I chose the Poinsettia Globe.

p1130535I asked my son-in-law, who is an artist, for some tips on coloring with colored pencils.  He sat down with me at Thanksgiving and gave me a few pointers.  He told me that paper has “tooth,” which means there are microscopic ridges and valleys, and you have to color in all directions in order to fill all the valleys.  A blending pencil helps move the color around, or you can use a Q-tip dipped in alcohol.  This project shows my latest attempt.

I cut the image out after tracing it on my Silhouette.  The sled is from the Create a Critter 2 cartridge, left over from my toilet paper album projects.  The old thing is my Crayola colored pencils.  The new thing is my new coloring skills and the image from Digital Delights!

Hope you link your Old/New projects at Cut it Up!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cut it Up – Out with the Old, In with the New

  1. Katie says:

    Love your project! Larelyn told me that I needed to color everyday! It takes a TON of practice!
    Happy New Year!
    ~ Katie
    CIU DT Sister 🙂

  2. Katrina says:

    Wait,,,,my son in law studied art, too and he is always giving me pointers and teaching me about the same sorts of things! How funny is that! Your globe looks great. The colors turned out so bright, I would not have guessed it was pencil! Love the little sleigh inside that globe!

  3. Larelyn Sartini says:

    Love it, Evelyn! Pencils are my next adventure. You did a great job. I have all the pencils and papers ready to go. I just have to keep my Copic and pencil papers separate LOL.

  4. amottmers says:

    This is just too cute!!!!

  5. Gerda says:

    What a great project!! Love the coloring!! You did a fabulous job!! Happy New Year !!
    Gerda.

  6. I love this card! It is so cute!

  7. Scrapper 69 says:

    Hi Evelyn! I hope your Christmas was wonderful & Happy New Year!! I just got back from my trip and thought I would POP in to see what you’ve been up too! Your card is ADORABLE! Love the sled and the coloring! Great tips too! 🙂 I missed out on seeing your other projects and went back through to check them out! Such wonderful creativity! As soon as I got home, I had a pile of mail sitting there waiting for me and the first thing I opened was an ADORABLE card from you! THANK YOU it was so sweet! 🙂 I’m hoping to get back into crafting this next week before heading back to work! Glad I’m able to stop by and say HI! Have a Wonderful Day! 🙂

    Theresa
    Theresa’s Crafty Creations

Leave a Reply

