25 Days of Christmas Crafting Day 20 – Santa and DCD Santa or Reindeer

Die Cuttin’ Divas‘ challenge to you this week is to use an image of Santa Claus or a reindeer on your project, so that’s the theme for today in my 25 Days of Christmas Crafting, too!  I went looking through my Christmas files and found this little gem from Treasure Box Designs called Xmas Tag Card Topper.  Love it!  I love that it’s different and just hints at Santa.  It’s just his suit!

p1130341So – I had a lot of inspiration for this card.  Kristie from The Best Things in Life are Pink blog always uses black to make her patterned papers pop.  I absolutely love the look, so she’s a big inspiration for me.  My other inspiration came from Jane at Onions and Paper.  I found her blog when she entered a card into a challenge for Cut it Up.  She got HER inspiration from a book, and you can read about it by clicking the above link.  Basically, Jane found a sketch in a book, made a paper template, then made a bunch of cards with scraps using her template.  That’s a great way to use up scraps.

I send out about 75 Christmas cards every year so I needed a lot.  I happen to have a Silhouette Cameo that does my cutting for me, so using Jane’s card as my template, I made a cut file.  Two actually.  Jane’s card is square.  I made a square one to start out with, but knowing that I was going to use it as a background for Christmas cards and that square cards cost more to send, I also resized it to A2 dimensions.  Then I went to work.  Instead of scraps I used full sheets of paper from the DCWV Jolly Whimsy stack and mixed and matched the papers to make 20 cards.

p1130349Here are just a few of them.

p1130348I’m also making 20 A2 sized shape cards using the same Santa suit file.  But I really love the background on this card.  I know I’ll use it again and again.

Hope to see your Santa or reindeer project over at Die Cuttin’ Divas this week!

and here’s the link in case you want to share your Santa projects to my 25 Days challenge:

Evelyn

 

 

 

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 25 Days of Christmas Crafting Day 20 – Santa and DCD Santa or Reindeer

  1. Gerda says:

    These cards are all wonderful!! I love the backgrounds and the cute Santa suit!!! Have a great day.
    Gerda

  2. Cely says:

    Still amazed with all the you made. I answered my own question about the Santa suit. Yup, all those are individual pieces….but oh so cute!

  3. LB says:

    LOVE how this whole group looks together – the patch work look behind the fun Santa icon is awesome

  4. Leslie S. says:

    Wow, those cards are really cute! Have a very Merry Christmas!!

  5. Felisa A Montee says:

    Love love love these cards can’t wait to case this……I have enjoyed all your 25 days cards. Thanks for all the inspiration

Leave a Reply

