25 Days of Christmas Crafting – Day 3 – Ice Skating

My brothers and sisters and I used to do a lot of ice skating.  Before Interstate 80 was built, there were woods near our house.  In the winters, there would be ice between the trees and we could ice skate there.  The other place we skated was a golf course the next town over.  That was lots of fun, and you’d meet so many people there.  They even had a building you could go into to warm up.  Really fond memories . . .

I have two old cards and one new card to show you for my Ice Skating theme.  The first two are a print-and-cut of Hello Kitty ice skating.  I made these a few years ago and never showed them, but she’s one of my favorite characters.  There’s nothing she can’t do!

p1070723webI think this second card is a sketch from Operation Write Home.  The stitching was inspired by my bloggy friend, Cely.  (Hi, Cely!)p1070809webThis next project is four identical cards measuring 5.5″ square.  I started with a Miss Kate’s Cuttable file called Ice Skate.  It’s so pretty, isn’t it?

p1130477It has some really intricate cuts on it, even cut at 4.5″, so I made it a hybrid – print and cut augmented by paper piecing.  Here’s how I did it:

1-traceI brought in two copies of the PNG file into the Silhouette Design studio and traced one of them.

2-rel-comp-delI selected the traced image and clicked Object, Release Compound Path, which broke it into all its pieces.  I deleted the tiny pieces on the shoelace, the reflection on the toe, and the narrow slice on the blade.

3-obj-subtract-centerNext I selected all the remaining parts and clicked on Object, Subtract.  This removed the two holes above the blade.  Now the entire image could move together as one.  (I could also have grouped them and that would have had the same outcome.)

I selected both the PNG image and my traced image and selected Center from the Align window, then grouped them.  Four copies fit on my paper.

Then I brought in the SVG and sized it to match the PNG image.  You can see below which parts I cut, didn’t cut, and print and cut.  I often type notes to myself on the virtual mat in case I want to make the same project again in the future!  🙂

4-screenp1130476I love how it came out!  I gambled on the little snowflake medallions, and they actually cut very nicely out of some sparkly paper.  The cuff and bow make this ice skate so beautiful.p1130480Here’s the neverending link in case you want to make an Ice Skating project!  Have fun!

Evelyn

 

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 25 Days of Christmas Crafting – Day 3 – Ice Skating

  1. gramjak says:

    I love the Little Kitty too!  Such cute cards, and your Ice skate is incredible design work! 

  2. Love them. I looked for ice skates….not one card in my pile of cards. We are talking years and I’ve never done a card with ice skates. I missed the snowman yesterday…definitely got that day covers.

  3. Scrapper69 says:

    The Hello Kitty Cards are adorable.. but I totally LOVE the Skate cards! Especially the snowflake medallion… it really adds to the skates! 🙂

    Theresa

Leave a Reply

