Last Minute Halloween Cards

I sent out all my Halloween cards to family and friends, then realized I neglected the four people I work closest with every day at school!  EEEK!  But luckily . . .

in my inbox this morning I received an update from one of the blogs I subscribe to, Bug Bites, with a group of cards that caught my eye (follow link!)  I cased one of them to make the last-minute cards I needed.

The images are from Digital Delights by Louby Loo.  They are an awesome sponsor for the Cut it Up Challenge Blog.  All the cards feature Spookily Night, the little owl and bat hanging out on a waning crescent moon.  (Science teacher here!)  These first two also showcase Devil Kiddles.  He reminds me of my son, who dressed up as the sweetest little devil twice for Halloween.

p1130375p1130377The third image is Zelda Pumpkinlicious:p1130378and the fourth is Boiling in the Pot:p1130379The papers are just scraps, so not sure who the manufacturer is.  They actually one two-sided scrap!  The spiderweb was from SVGcuts (but I don’t think it’s available anymore) and the font is one saved on my computer called A Charming Font.  I think it looks spooky, not charming!

All the images are popped up on foam tape.p1130376I have a set of dies for my eBosser machine that are stitched rectangles.  So many different companies are making stitched dies nowadays.  I’m seeing them on all kinds of projects with all different stitched shapes and am always tempted to buy them.  I do like working with dies and the eBosser, but it’s time-consuming.  You can only cut out one at a time.  I figured out a way to get the job done using my Silhouette software.  You guys probably already know this technique; it’s not the first time I’ve been late to the party!

To make my white layer, I created a 4 x 5.25 inch rectangle.  Then I made an Internal Offset of 0.100 inches, opened the Line Style Window and chose the third style down.  Grouped it with my original rectangle, brought in the Spookily Night image and was set to print and cut!  Voila!  Now I can use that internal offset technique with any shape I want, any size I want, and can cut out as many as will fit on my mat at one time!  I’m a happy woman!  Saving time AND money!faux-stitchingHappy Halloween!  🙂

Evelyn

 

 

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Last Minute Halloween Cards

  1. Barb says:

    Love these cards. They are Spook-tacular!

  2. Scrapper69 says:

    Hi Evelyn! I’ve had a Crazy busy week and just finally got some free time to check out my Favorite blogs! YAY ME! 🙂 What a great way to make the stitched border! I’ve done it a couple of times with my Silhouette, but never liked the way it came out… If you ever decide you want a set of the stitched dies… I know a place that has them for $10 – YES, only $10 and they are GREAT dies! 🙂 Your cards are adorable and the images are super cute! Have a great weekend and a Happy Halloween!

    Theresa
    Theresa’s Crafty Creations

  3. What 4 quick cards. Less is more many many times and this pops with the black and white and whimsical paper and spider web. I love producing such things, just not too often since I’m not that talented. You were on a roll today. Kudos to you. PS Can’t believe you didn’t have extras in your stash..haha Barely got my cards out and actually left off a few people I really wanted to send cards to…there’s Fall and Thanksgiving…hint hint

Leave a Reply

