DCD #286 – October sketch

october-sketchHere it is, Die Cuttin’ Divas’ October sketch!

I turned it vertically and came up with this:

 

 

 

p1130146

This gorgeous box office is from the Art Deco Cricut cartridge.  It’s a birthday card for my son-in-law who is involved in theater.  He’s a very talented artist as well and appreciates lots of different styles, so I thought this cut would be the perfect fit for him.  I used the colors recommended in the handbook.

p1130150I used all the layers, including the shadow.  It’s popped up using foam tape to give it added dimension.  Since the card base is dark brown, I lined the inside with white so I can write the sentiment in regular ink.

I cut this using the Cricut Explore.  It’s much easier if you don’t fight with the machine.  I’m so used to SCAL and the Silhouette software, and really like those.  I like how you can plan your mat, place all the papers on it at once, and cut everything all at the same time.  BUT to do that with the Cricut Explore, it’s really a battle.  So I just gave in and did one paper at a time, using the same upper left-hand corner of my mat every time.  It was time consuming but less aggravating than trying to lay everything on the virtual mat and jumping through all the hoops to make it stay there.  Luckily, I also had a project cutting on my Cameo at the same time so I didn’t get too bored . . . 🙂

Anyway, I hope you join us Die Cuttin’ Divas for our sketch challenge this month!  It’s another keeper!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DCD #286 – October sketch

  1. karla1229 says:

    I love this card!! What a great diecut and wonderful way to create a thoughtful gift for your son in law!

  2. Theresa McKinney says:

    Oh wow Evelyn! Your card is FANTASTIC! Perfect Masculine card and your SIL will love it!

    Theresa
    Theresa’s Crafty Creations

  3. Good grief….In my mind I thought I had commented on this wonderful card. It struck me immediately and it was instant love. At first glance I thought it was the front of a train car. This card is AWESOME!!!!! SIL or anyone will love it…wow!

Leave a Reply

