DCD #284 – Let’s Celebrate a Birthday!

We’re celebrating birthdays at Die Cuttin’ Divas this week.  You can never have too many birthday cards on hand.  You never know when your husband is going to ask you for one!  Since it’s almost fall, I decided to make an autumn-themed birthday card this time around.

For my card base, I used a cut from Cricut Wild Card.  It’s the cut on page 35 called Stitched.  I cut the card, the liner, and the frame.  Don’t know if you can tell or not, but the rooster is on the inside of the card, peeking through a little square hole in the front.

I love to use my Cricut cartridges and had a ton of fun with this one.  I went “old school.”  No Gypsy, no Design Studio, no Design Space, just a old Expression and cartridge.

P1130032The paper is actually Halloween paper, Steampunk Spells from Graphic 45.  I inked all the edges with Vintage Photo Distress Ink from Tim Holtz.

P1130030P1130035

On the left is a close up of the image from the front of the card, and on the right is what it looks like on the inside.  I matted the inside one.  That gorgeous rooster is from Unity Stamp Company.  It’s an Itty Bitty called New Day Rooster.  I stamped in black on some watercolor paper that I water colored on!  🙂  On the inside, it says, “Hope your birthday is something to crow about!”

P1130034I wrapped up the bottom with Lion Brand Lame Metallic Yarn.  It’s really string.  I thought it went nicely with the colors.

Hope you check out all the inspiration at Die Cuttin’ Divas, then link up your own birthday card.  (You know – not one you received, but one you made!)

Evelyn

 

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DCD #284 – Let’s Celebrate a Birthday!

  1. Cely says:

    Love it! Caught my eye immediately with the dots and golden colors. THAT’S the cartridge I was talking about….that was the first one I bought for my Cricut. I only bought 6 before I taught myself to create my own sags since I couldn’t afford the cartridges….and I wanted them all. Yes, great Fall birthday card. Yup, you can never have enough.

  2. sherrie says:

    Super cute card! Love the image and fun colors! It is fun to pull out the cricut now and then ha? I have so many cartridges that are just sitting~it’s a shame, there are so many adorable images! I really should spend one week just creating with it! Thanks for the inspiration!
    Sherrie K

  3. declerckanneke says:

    A very beautiful fall card! Love the metallic yarn, a lovely detail!

  4. Katrina says:

    So, so cute, Evelyn! Love this country look!

  5. Scrapper69 says:

    Awesome card Evelyn! I love the Fall theme for a bday card! The twine is a nice added touch! Have a great day!

    Theresa

  6. Gerda says:

    Gorgeous Birthday card Evelyn!! Love it!! Have a great day.
    Gerda

Leave a Reply

