Stick it Down – September, 2016

sept 16Here’s the September card sketch for Stick it Down sketch blog, and it’s a winner!  My neighbor is in his first year at Virginia Tech and this card was for his going away party.  Instead of stamping in a gradient light-to-dark manner or using patterned paper, I decided to use watercolor inks from Stampin’ Up in VT’s colors.  Orange is lighter than maroon, so I put orange on top.

I wet my watercolor paper with my little wet pen thingy, dripped the ink onto it and smeared it around.  The orange is More Mustard and the maroon is Bravo Burgundy.  It was so much fun!  But a little boring to look at.

So, I went through my embossing folders and chose a masculine one from Tim Holtz.  You almost can’t go wrong using Tim Holtz anything to make a masculine card.  This embossing folder is called Blueprint.

P1130019The sentiment is American Typewriter.  It’s print and cut using my Silhouette, and the flag is also Silhouette.  I stuck a glue dot under the left hand side and used the Tiny Attacher on the right.  Inside, it has the VT logo:

P1130020I hope this sketch inspires you!  If not, there is a one-page layout sketch and a two-pager.  Hope to see yours over at Stick it Down real soon!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stick it Down – September, 2016

  1. Cely says:

    It’s great…I’m surprise you could get such vibrant colors with watercolor…I need to buy a different kind obviously. He will love it and have a great time at VT.

  2. Cely says:

    Revisiting…I love that embossing folder…You are right that you can’t go wrong with Tim Holtz items

  3. Scrapper 69 says:

    Oh how! That looks amazing Evelyn! LOVE the colors and the embossing… makes a fantastic Masculine card! And your right… you can never go wrong with a Tim Holtz item for masculine anything! 🙂 Have a great day!

    Theresa
    Theresa’s Crafty Creations

Leave a Reply

