Stick it Down – August 2016

August 16As soon as I saw Stick it Down’s August sketch, I knew exactly what I wanted to do with it.  The banners looked like upside down Christmas trees to me, so that’s where I went with it.  I have a CTMH border stamp that would be the perfect height for a row of trees on a long, narrow card. .  My original idea was to add a snowman to the scene, and I made a few, but they were too casual and cutesy to use with the more elegant Christmas tree stamp.  My next idea was to put a deer there.  When I looked through the files saved on my computer, I found this beautiful Deer Family silhouette from Pretty Paper Pretty Ribbons.  I think it adds to the peaceful scene.

P1130009Here’s my card.  The “BE MERRY – BE WARM – BE COZY” sentiment strip came with the same stamp set.  It was called Snowhaven from Close to My Heart.

P1130004So, obviously I turned the sketch upside down and used an image instead of a large sentiment.  I’m very happy with the clean look.

I hope you join us this month!  Our challenge at Stick it Down lasts all month long.  Every month we have three sketches for you – a double-page layout, a single-page layout, and a card.  You link your project using the linky in the left-hand column.  Hope to see yours there!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper and wool, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Stick it Down – August 2016

  1. Cely says:

    You nailed the sketch. I love the blend if the modern trees and the sweet deer…nice combo. Hummmm, never saw trees in the banners. That’s why I love stopping by your blog….seeing different visions and looking outside the box.

Leave a comment