Cut it Up – Red, White, and Blue

CIU challenge blogI always associate red, white, and blue with July, I guess because of Independence Day.  Well, that’s our theme this time around at Cut it Up – Red, White, and Blue.

You know I’ve been on a clear-it-out kick this summer, right?  Well my granddaughter grew out of her medium-sized diapers and is into large now, so she needed larger diaper covers.  The Adaptation soaker from Ravelry.com is the one that works best for her.  The little legs keep the poop in!  I checked my stash of leftover wool and found partial skeins of red, white, and blue.  Perfect project for the Fourth of July weekend!  I used up every yard of that red and just have a little white and blue left.

P1120787aOn my desk were these scraps:

P1120799The Hello there tag was just hand cut, I think.  I wanted a blue background, so I removed the black and replaced it with a scrap of blue.  I don’t recall where the stars came from, but I do know the Happy Birthday was cut from Elegant Edges.  I measured that and went back to Elegant Edges to make a shadow using the same scrap of blue.  Put them altogether with In the Navy and Berry Trendy Twine, some brads and an eyelet to make a tag.

P1120807P1120800My daughter didn’t need the tag, so I recycled it and made it into a card with some very old Close to My Heart paper and the Cuttlebug Stars embossing folder.

P1120812So, recycled and recycled again!  I feel so virtuous!

Our sponsor is One Happy Cut, a $15.00 gift code.  Hope you enter!  See you over at Cut it Up! 

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Paper Crafting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cut it Up – Red, White, and Blue

  1. Katrina says:

    So, so cute! Love the way your recycled this; very cool!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Love the diaper cover! Clever and all American! Love the tag too…I still have the CTMH pp!

  3. Cecilia Smith says:

    I learned how to crochet, but never knitting…wish I had. Guess it is never too late to teach an old dog new tricks. Gee, it would be awesome to make for grandchild. I haven’t seen anything like this or soooo cute.

  4. Scrapper69 says:

    That is the CUTEST Diaper Cover I’ve ever seen!! Adorable!! And the Tag is perfect… LOVE how you reused it by adding it to a card! LOVE the card too! 🙂

    Theresa
    Theresa’s Crafty Creations

Leave a Reply

