DCD #274 – Ants or Picnics

At Die Cuttin’ Divas this week, our theme is ants or picnics.  I decided to do both.  What’s a picnic without ants?  (or flies, or bees . . .)

P1120761P1120762I have a VERY old mat stack by Die Cuts With a View.  It’s a pad of 6.5″ x 4.5″ mats in different colors and solids.  I’ve had it forever.  It’s supposed to be used behind 6 x 4 photos.  The red gingham is from that pack, but there were only two papers left and I had made enough ants and watermelon slices for four cards, so I shopped my scrap stash and found the green and white paper.

P1120758P1120759The red gingham brings to mind a picnic tablecloth, and the green reminds me of grass.

The grass is a border punch; the watermelon is from the Silhouette store, Design ID #138518; and the ant is from Miss Kate Cuttables.  I used this one and omitted the strawberry on her back.  Apparently, I didn’t use a dark enough gray for that top layer.  It’s just dawning on me now!!  I’ve never seen a light gray ant before.  Oops!  Not going back and fixing it. . .

I plan to either just use these as note cards or birthday cards.  If I decide to use them as a birthday card, I’ll write this on the inside:
On your birthday, I hope you’re as happy as an ant at a picnic!

How’s that sound?  🙂

Hop on over to Die Cuttin’ Divas to see what the other DT members did with this cute theme.  Our sponsor is CAS-ual Fridays Stamps.

Evelyn

 

 

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to DCD #274 – Ants or Picnics

  1. gramjak says:

    Love the “happy as an ant at a picnic” sentiment! Really cute cards, Evelyn, as alwas!

  2. Gerda says:

    Both cards are so adorable!! Love the cute ants!! Have a great day.
    Gerda

  3. Nancy says:

    Super sweet cards, Evelyn!!!!

  4. Scrapper69 says:

    I had some of those old stacks too Evelyn…. I ended up giving them away.. when you have too much paper.. you learn to give it away or you’ll go crazy! LOL Your cards are certainly ADORABLE! Love that ant!

    Theresa
    Theresa’s Crafty Creations

  5. June Houck says:

    Oh my goodness, this is the sweetest set of summer time cards!!!

  6. sherrie says:

    Couldn’t be cuter!! I love the fun design and the papers are awesome. I too have a lot of older stacks which I need to get using up, lol!
    Have a super day
    Sherrie K

  7. That ant is adorable! Love your cards!

  8. Fun – great cards!

  9. Cely says:

    Gosh, I thought I had left a comment. Glad I was revisiting your blog. I know those paper stacks. Being away from my cards for so long, I revisited all my paper stacks just yesterday and recognized the packs you used that I also had. Goal….use the papers! I’ll be posting today using up some old stacks as well. I adore your CAS, happy happy cards you made.

Leave a Reply

