Milo May

I started knitting when I was in about fourth grade.  My next-door neighbor, an old Italian lady, taught me.  She always held her right-hand needle under her arm for stability.  That wasn’t comfortable for me, but I did find that lodging it in the crook of my thigh while sitting worked very well, so that’s how I do all my straight needle knitting.  Here she is with my sister in 1961.

missy mrs cavallo January 1961

I used to do a lot of knitting.  I made sweaters and scarves for my boyfriend (now husband) before we were married; I made Christmas stockings and sweaters for nieces and nephews; and really went to town when my own children were born.  Then it kind of slowed down, a sweater here and there, mostly for babies, occasionally an adult sweater.

Then last year my daughter told me I was going to be a grandmother!  I’ve been in a knitting frenzy ever since!  That little grandbaby has knit wear to last a couple of years at least!

There’s an adorable, super quick, super customizable baby vest pattern called the Milo.  You can buy it on Ravelry.com.  Well during May there’s an event called Milo May, a time when lots of knitters make lots of Milos.  They’re quick and easy and a good stash-buster.  I am working towards knitting up all the yarn that I have (kind of like using up all my leftover paper cuts and scraps) so I joined Milo May this year.  I knitted four Milos during Milo May:

P1120453P1120466P1120552aP1120556aThen I started knitting one using left over green and white wool, about half a skein each.  I got half-way finished and ran out so I bought more of that same wool and finished the Milo, but you guessed it.  I have about half a skein of green and white left over.   Hmm.  Reminds me of that old song, There’s a Hole in the Bucket.  🙂

Evelyn

 

 

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Milo May

  1. Katrina says:

    These are soooo adorable!

  2. Jennifer says:

    LOL, there’s a hole in the bucket! Too funny but so true!! My aunt and mom and grandmother always ran into this situation. We have several blankets with so many different colors…but they usually end up kinda nice! Love your little vests. Congrats on the grandchild!!!

Leave a Reply

