Using up leftovers

One of my favorite things to do!  I think it’s because my parents grew up during the great depression. “Use it up, wear it out, make it do or do without” was one of the sayings of that time and we lived by it.  I can’t seem to throw away perfectly good stuff, and I really feel virtuous when I use every last scrap!

Here is what I have to work with this summer.  I think I made a good dent in it today.  See if you can find what I used!

P1120655

I can show you some of what I made, but others will have to wait until design team days.

P1120676P1120683This is what I did with the two snowflake pieces left over from Cut it Up’s Mardi Gras challenge, here.  I’m not all that happy with the top one and will probably discard it later, but at least it’s off the desk.

P1120680P1120677This card used three leftovers.  I had a couple of the blue embossed mats and a couple white and black mats.  I had previously adhered the pink flower on.  It was a negative cut from some other project, but it was so pretty in itself I couldn’t throw it out.

P1120691Here’s the last one I have to show you today.  I love the bold colors on this one.  The white and black mat already had the blue snowflakes on them, also from the Mardi Gras challenge.  The papers are scraps.  The stamp is from Unity, called Explore, enjoy, believe, inked up with Stampin’ Up Not Quite Navy using my MISTI.

I can’t wait to show you the rest.  Stay tuned!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Using up leftovers

  1. Jennifer says:

    Love your cards! Great job using up scraps! Although I didn’t grow during the depression, my grandparent did and both of my parent were not well to do. Saving and using what we have has trickled down to me. I havee more scraps then I now what to do with! You’ve inspired me to take out my bags of scraps and create something using the scraps as inspiration!

  2. Cely says:

    I had the “bestest” time looking at your desk of leftover goodies. Yours is soooo much more organized, neat, and interesting than mine. I think I forgot about that “home is where the heart is” cut out. Love it. I need to revisit LD and all my images.

  3. Katrina says:

    I’m right there with you! I have baggies and boxes filled with scraps….and I mean scraps! I can’t stand to throw away anything. I often times keep the cut scraps for stencils. My kids are going to hate me when they one day have to clean out the craft room! hahaha Love the sentiment on your snowy card!

  4. What a great idea – it is something I need to do more of!

Leave a Reply

