DCD #255 – March sketch

March sketchHere is the Die Cuttin’ Divas’ sketch for March.  I had lots of ideas for this one.  (You’ll see another card I made using this sketch next week!)  But for this week, I used the sketch to make a birthday card for our superintendent.  She started out as a principal, then was the acting superintendent and is now the superintendent, but for those couple of years the Sunshine Committee couldn’t decide what “Appreciation” day to celebrate for her, so we just decided her birthday was unique and we went with that.

P1120160This is a big card, big enough for everyone to sign it.  The card stock is 18″ x 12″ so the card measures 9″ x 12″.  There’s a story to go along with the picture.

Our school has an annual food drive for the local food bank.  Students and staff are challenged to beat last year’s haul and every year there is a funny incentive.  One year, the principal, superintendent, and student-selected staff members got pies in the face if we met our goal.  This year, they were to don bright red lipstick and kiss a baby lamb.  How fun!  Of course we met our goal!

To make our our superintendent’s birthday card, I photoshopped a picture of her kissing the lamb, brought it into Sure Cuts a Lot, and converted it to an svg.  Then I brought that into Cricut Design Space and cut it along with a sheep.  I can’t figure out which cartridge the sheep is from.  Good Old Cricut Design Space doesn’t tell you, other than it’s one that I purchased, meaning it’s on a cartridge that I have.  I don’t like that (lack of a) feature.

*** edited – Thanks to Candie Schaal who left a comment on this post.  Turns out you CAN find out the cartridge an image is on in Cricut Design Space.  She says to click on the i for information on the image and it’ll tell you.  This cute sheep is from Just Because Cards.  Thanks again, Candie!  Now I’m happy!!  🙂

P1120156P1120157The cool font is called Lightfoot.

We hope you’ll join us for this week’s sketch challenge!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DCD #255 – March sketch

  1. I have an explore and use Design Space too. If you click on the little i on the shape it tells you what cartridge it is on. Just thought I would share. Have a good day. I love the card!

  2. Shelly says:

    This is such a fun card to go with a fun story! Love that!

    Hope you have a super day!
    Shelly

  3. Sandi says:

    I am always impress with your work! Great Job!

  4. Scrapper69 says:

    Great Story Evelyn! Fab Card – I’m sure the Super Will get a kick out of it and wow on how big it is – very cool to make a card that large for everyone to sign! 🙂

    Theresa
    Theresa’s Crafty Creations

  5. Migdalia Rodriguez says:

    Super cute & fun!
    Have a blessed day,
    Migdalia
    Crafting With Creative M

Leave a Reply

