DCD #247 – January sketch

Happy New Year!

Die Cuttin’ Divas’ first challenge for 2016 is a sketch challenge.  Here it is:

Jan 2016 sketchI need a birthday card for one of my brothers.  I always think of cars when it comes time to make cards for them because growing up, they and my father were always working on cars.  Even now my brothers love to work on cars.  They both usually have an antique, old clunker that they are restoring in their garage.  Here’s one example.

Before:

beforeAfter:

afterWhen I searched my computer for a car file, I came across a cutie from My Scrap Chick called Car Album and used it for this month’s sketch challenge.

P1110865P1110867The dots on my paper are standing in for the three brads in the sketch, and the clouds and road are the stripes.  I used Microsoft Word for the thought bubble (copied and pasted it into the Silhouette software to cut.)

P1110870The clouds are Lori Whitlock.

P1110871

The front cloud and the car are popped up on foam tape.  I made four cards of this style.

P1110872Then I couldn’t resist making a shaped card out of that cute car file, too.  I just love shaped cards!

P1110877 We’d love to see your take on this sketch.  The challenge runs from January 5th through the 11th.  Newton’s Nook Designs is our sponsor this time around.   Head on over to Die Cuttin’ Divas to see the other designers’ cards, then link up your own!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DCD #247 – January sketch

  1. Janis says:

    Great car and wow on that transformation!
    Smiles! Janis
    Pause Dream Enjoy
    PDE Linky Party, Owner & DT Member

  2. Debby Pannell says:

    LMAO…. love how the car’s exhaust is the sentiment. So darn cute.
    TTFN

  3. Leslie says:

    That is such a cute card and just perfect for your brother! Happy New Year.

  4. Shelly says:

    Evelyn, This is so CUTE! Love that fun little card and those awesome clouds!

    What a cool car too!

  5. Migdalia Rodriguez says:

    Super cute & Fun!! I love your interpretation of the sketch!!Awesome job!
    Have a blessed day,
    Migdalia
    Crafting With Creative M

  6. Gerda says:

    What a super cute card!! Have a great day.
    Gerda

Leave a Reply

