Cut it Up – BRRRR! Winter !

CIU challenge blogNOT my favorite season . . .

Hello!  Back with another challenge from Cut it Up.  Our theme this time around is BRRRR!  Winter!  I can deal with winter on paper (using paper, that is!)  I do love making Christmas cards, and decorating with all the cute snowmen and everything, but in the real world – coldness, short dark days, ice and slush, YUK!

Recently, Miss Kate’s Cuttables offered this adorable Snowman Snow Globe freebie.  He was so cute, I just had to make him. I left off the handle that was on the right-hand side.  I love the shape of the snowflakes.

P1110720I went looking for a certain pad of winter paper (that I saw someone else use online and had to travel two hours last year to buy and then never used) to make my card, but then was inspired to go another way.  I decided to make easel cards:

P1110723I made four of them because that’s what fit on my mat.  Look at the snowman in front.  His fingers got frostbitten and fell off!  😦

P1110718He’s still smiling, though.  What a trooper!

sil-matTo make the easel to fit the card, I mirrored the background image included in Miss Kate’s file.  I used Silhouette studio to make a circle the same size as the globe and welded that to the bottom.  I added a dotted line between them and another one half-way up the top for folding.

P1110717

They’re small, just over 3 1/2 ” tall.  The sentiment is from Paper Wings Productions, their Winter Mix it Up set.

P1110721Our sponsor this time around is One Happy Cut.  They donated a $15 gift certificate!  So come on over and play at Cut it Up!  I know you have some adorable winter projects to show us!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cut it Up – BRRRR! Winter !

  1. Katrina says:

    These guys are too cute! I’m with you on the weather front! I want snow for a couple of weeks and then it should return to the 60’s for a month or two and then be in the 70’s again until the next Christmas holiday! I need a little snow to get some good winter pics to scrap and use the fireplace! hahaha

  2. Cely says:

    Absolutely adorable. I’ve missed soooo many of miss kates cut tables not getting into my craft room and they don’t download correctly on my iPad. I love the flakes too. With heading to Denver next week with my youngest son to see my brother, we hope to see a little snow. I don’t want to drive in it but would love to see it. Anyhow, I’m sooo jealous of all your card creations and all ready feel overwhelmed as to what little card I should make once I’m back in the saddle….haha

  3. Oh my!! This is adorable!! I love shaped cards. My favorite card and they are so much fun to make.
    Have a blessed day,
    Migdalia
    Crafting With Creative M

  4. junehouck says:

    Cutest easel card ever! Love these, Evelyn.

  5. These are SO cute!! I really need to buckle down and collect some of these freebies!! Hugs! Christi

  6. These are very cute easel cards. Love the snowmen.

  7. Linda says:

    This globe card is adorable! I wish I saw it earlier, I would have used this for my Christmas cards. SO cute!

Leave a Reply

