DCD #243 – Tag, Bag or Box

It’s another fun challenge this week at Die Cuttin’ Divas.  We challenge you to create a Tag, Bag or a Box.  I chose to create a box.

You probably know by now that my Marine son is currently deployed and will spend his holidays abroad this year.  We have a little ceramic dish that I put out around Christmastime filled with the red and green M&Ms.  Mike enjoys that every year.  This little M&M dish has become part of our Christmas tradition.

P1110668Well, I can’t send him the dish!  So I did the next best thing.  I made a paper one!

P1110674To make this box, I first took a good picture of the dish lid.  I finagled it around in Photoshop Elements, then brought it into Silhouette Design Studio and print/cut it onto the lid layer from the Octagonal Heart Box from SVG Cuts.com (no longer available.)  Before assembling the base, I ran it through my crimper so it matched the original dish better:

P1110678P1110670I’ll send the paper box along with a bag of red and green M&Ms.  I think it’ll bring a smile to his face.

This Die Cuttin’ Diva challenge begins November 24th and ends on the 29th.

Hope you join us!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DCD #243 – Tag, Bag or Box

  1. Nancy says:

    Wow, Best mom ever! What a beautiful gift! Filled with m&m’s to boot, he’s going to love it!

  2. Cely says:

    What a wonderful Christmas story. Your son will be so thrilled. I know it brought a tear to my eye. Just awesome!

  3. Katrina says:

    Wow, what a great way to send your son “some home” for the holidays! That is a great idea!! I’m going to share that with a friend who has a son on a Navy ship. Your little dish is so cute!

  4. Ohhhh such a great gift!! You’re son is going to love it 🙂

  5. Scrapper69 says:

    This is simply Wonderful Evelyn! LOVE how you recreated the dish to send to your son! Mine is in Boot Camp and won’t be home for the Holidays either… Fab idea….. Thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

    Theresa

  6. Georgiana says:

    What an awesome duplicate! Looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

