Cut it Up – Oh, Brother!

CIU challenge blogThis is such a fun theme this time on Cut it Up Challenge Blog!  The idea is to make something for your sibling or someone who is like a sibling to you!  Now here’s the fun part of this challenge:  Share the story behind your creation!

 

I made a cookie recipe box for my sister.  When we were little, we would make gingerbread cookies with our mother.  It was a lot of fun, both using the cutters and decorating.  We used white icing made with powdered sugar and water.  Great memories!  So I used a gingerbread man for the cover.  It has a little hook-n-loop closure.

P1110332web

P1110331web

My sister’s favorite color is green, so that’s what I used.  The recipe box is my own design.  (Look here to see how it’s made.)   The gingerbread man was from Treasure Box Designs in 2010.  I don’t see it there anymore, but they have other ones just as cute!  I cut him at three inches.

P1110332webP1110330web

I popped him up on dimensionals, and for the buttons, I used little dots that I made by melting Perler beads.

There are two sponsors for this week’s challenge:  As Cute As A Button is donating a $20 Gift Certificate to their store, and my design team sister, Katrina is donating a CTMH Idea Book, paper, stamp set, and some mystery elements.  If you link up your project that you have made for your sibling (or someone who is like a sibling to you), you could win big!!

 

Now head on over to Cut it Up!!  Lots of cute projects there!  and good luck!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cut it Up – Oh, Brother!

  1. Katrina says:

    Love this and so will your sister! (This would make a great shower gift for a new bride, also. I’m going to tuck away this idea.) It’s always fun to have those holiday memories of siblings and I’m sure she will think back on those days fondly when she see this! Thanks for sharing the details on the box, also!

  2. Evelyn, that is such a sweet gift for your sister and filled with wonderful memories!!

  3. Gerda says:

    What a wonderful gift for your Sister!!! Your Sister will love this box!!! Have a great day.
    Gerda

  4. Scrapper69 says:

    Oh how sweet! What a cute recipe box! Your sister will love it! 🙂

    Theresa
    Theresa’s Crafty Creations

  5. Leah says:

    Such a great box!

Leave a Reply

