DCD #230 – Inspired by a Decade

What decade speaks to you?  Are you a flower child from the 60s? a greaser from the 70s? flapper from the 20s?  Our challenge for you this week at Die Cuttin’ Divas is to make a project that is inspired by a decade.  You also must tell us what decade you’re using!

I grew up in the 60s – 70s, but I took inspiration from my new Art Deco Cricut cartridge, which is filled with images reminiscent of the 1920s.  I used one of the awesome cars (and one of the awesome borders) to make a birthday card for my brother, who restores classic cars for fun.

P1110212web

P1110215web

The background is embossed with one of the folders that came with my embosser.  The sentiment inside is from Unity Stamp Company, called Consider Yourself Vintage.

P1110217web

I like how the font is smudged, as if it were typed on an old typewriter.

This challenge begins on Aug 25th and ends on Aug 30th.  Our sponsor again this week is Pretty Paper, Pretty Ribbons!  I hope you give it a try!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to DCD #230 – Inspired by a Decade

  1. Katrina says:

    What a great card for an incredibly fun challenge theme! Your brother is going to love this!

    Katrina

  2. sherrie says:

    Super fun card! The vintage car is such a great cut and love the embossing!
    Sherrie K

  3. Gerda says:

    What a fabulous card!!! Love that car and the pretty embossing!!! Have a great day.
    Gerda

  4. Scrapper69 says:

    Very Cool Evelyn! LOVE the Vintage look and masculine at that!!! Great Card! 🙂

    Theresa
    Theresa’s Crafty Creations

  5. Jayne Kasten says:

    Wowzer! (as they said in the 20’s!) LOVE your card and the classic car! Great job, Evelyn!

  6. Pia says:

    What an interesting theme! Love your take on it, this car is looking great and I love this masculine design, very nice indeed!

  7. Leslie says:

    Wow, that is a beautiful card. I don’t have that cartridge but it looks like a good one. Have a great week.

  8. goc1122 says:

    Love the yellow on this and the embossing

Leave a Reply

