DCD #228 – Nautical theme

This week, Die Cuttin’ Divas is challenging us to create a project with a nautical theme.  This was different for me.  I used this challenge to shore up my stash of masculine cards (get it? 🙂 )

P1100930web

I didn’t use a Cricut cartridge for this one, though, but I did use a file that I had purchased and not used yet — the simple label card base from SVG Cutting Files.  The blue paper is Stampin up retired paper, and the beautiful, pre-colored ship is from Doodle Pantry, aptly named Old Ship.

P1100931web P1100934webI googled how to tie that gorgeous sailors’ knot and used Maya Road ginger root brown cordage to tie it.  It’s taped on the back, but to get it to stay in position, I poured some white glue on a piece of scrap paper and laid the knot on top of it to get the back all gluey.

P1100932web

I saw this inspiring quote online and typed it on my computer to include on the inside:

P1100933web

I only put this on one of the cards, and I’ve stashed that one away to send to my son when he deploys in the fall.  The rest of the cards I left blank and can use as note cards or stamp “Happy Birthday” inside.

This current Die Cuttin’ Divas challenge begins Aug. 11th and ends on the 16th.  Our sponsor is Sherri Baldy Digistamps.  Head on over to DCD to check out the awesome projects made by the other design team members, then put your thinking cap on.  We’d love to see your take on the nautical theme!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DCD #228 – Nautical theme

  1. thepaperbaker says:

    Love your card & that fabulous knot!

  2. Scrapper69 says:

    Oh WOW! These are amazing Evelyn! LOVE the knot and the wonderful backgrounds…. Perfect Masculine cards! 🙂

    Theresa
    Theresa’s Crafty Creations

  3. junehouck says:

    The sailor’s knot is a brilliant design embellishment! Very cool, Evelyn 🙂

  4. Pia says:

    These look great!! Wonderful simple designs, perfect for a masculine style, and love the detail of the knots!!

  5. Gerda says:

    What a beautiful cards!! Love the knot!!!! Have a great day.
    Gerda.

  6. Another gorgeous card and your knot is just the finishing touch.

Leave a Reply

