Stick it Down – July 2015

This is my first official challenge for the Stick it Down sketch blog!  Here is the July sketch I was to work with:

Irmelin Jul card sketchThe light purple looks like watercolor painting to me, so that’s what I tried first.  My husband and I share a love of watching the sky, especially during and before storms and at sunrise and sunset, so that was the look I was going for when I created his anniversary card.  I smeared Tim Holtz Distress Inks in three or four colors on a piece of wax paper going from dark at the top to light and reddish at the bottom.  Then I spritzed it with water and laid my paper down on top of it to absorb the paint.  I love the look!  It really blends nicely this way.

P1100752webSince this is a guy card, I omitted the bow.  I also moved the three dots to the sides of the banner and substituted a photo of the moon for the ovals.

Then I wanted to try another take on the sketch and came up with this:

P1100775webI used the Bow Set,  Banners Set  and Cute Goldfish from Miss Kate’s Cuttables.  The circle die is called Heart Circles.  It’s a Nestabilities set from Spellbinders.   Here’s the inside:

P1100774webI have about a million of these adorable fish.  The day they were given as a freebie, I had to drop everything and print and cut them.  I made several into cards and still have lots left!!

Try your hand at the sketch and link it up in the left-hand column of the Stick it Down blog.  You could win a guest design spot for Stick it Down!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stick it Down – July 2015

  1. thepaperbaker says:

    Love how you did the moon background! The bright colors on the fish card are so cheery too. Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

  2. Cute cards Evelyn and each one so different using the same sketch.

  3. gramjak says:

    I absolutely LOVE both of these cards. Such creative variety following the same sketch. LOVE your ideas always and send best wishes to you for a wonderful summer!

  4. Katrina says:

    Great cards and so much fun to see 2 different takes on the sketch!

  5. Scrapper69 says:

    They’re both wonderful cards Evelyn! 🙂

    Theresa
    Scrappers Anonymous

  6. Love the cards Evelyn.

Leave a Reply

