Center step #3

I had leftover cuts from here and decided to finally put them to good use.  As you know, I’ve been on a center step card kick this week.  In order to get the full benefit from this Make a Wish banner from Designs on Cloud 9, I wanted to have it hanging in the air, so when I made these center step cards, I scored and folded them “backwards.”

P1090931webUsing the measurements from Splitcoast Stampers, all I did was switch where I scored.  All the score lines that were supposed to be on the CENTER panel, I scored on the side panels instead; and all the score lines that were supposed to be on the SIDE panels, I scored on the center panel instead.  You can see another card that I did the same thing on  here.  I like the look!  This technique really gives some depth and interest to the card.

P1090930webP1090929webThe little birthday cake is from Miss Kate’s Cuttables.   The flames were four layers and the candles were two, so I printed and cut those and added them onto the regular cut file.  The cake is popped up on foam tape.  The brads are from Michaels.

P1090927webP1090928webIt still amazes me how thin a cut I can get with my Silhouette!!  🙂  Look at the string the banners are hanging from!  I chose the papers to match the colors in my leftover Make a Wish cut.  Orange is such a happy color!

Well, hopefully I’m off the center steps for awhile, although I have to warn you, I have two more leftover center step bases sitting on my desk.  Maybe I’ll hide them from myself and get stuck on something new. . .

Evelyn

 

 

 

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Center step #3

  1. Cely says:

    WhaT? Reversing? How cool is that! Oh my…can’t wait to try. Nope, didn’t buy this one…$45 worth and didn’t buy this cuties…wonderful cut file no. 3. You are on a roll and still sticking with your pretty orange.

  2. Kate says:

    Super cards! I need to venture out a bit more with my base designs. I love the way you mixed print and cut with “regular” cuts. Looks fabulous!

  3. Migdalia says:

    Super cute & Fun!!
    Have a wonderful day,
    Migdalia
    *Crafting With Creative M*

  4. Love this card and how you have made it ‘backwards’. Thank you for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

