Cut it Up – National Braille Literacy Month

CIU challenge blogDid you know that January is National Braille Literacy Month?  When I was thinking of a theme for this challenge, I did a search for January holidays and found this one.  Since I work at a school for the Deaf and the Blind, I know how important learning Braille is for blind and visually impaired people.  It really amazed me when I went to my first Christmas concert at my school.  Some of the students hadn’t memorized the words of the songs and were singing while reading the words from their braille cheat sheets!  I found this interesting article by Lighthouse for the Visually Impaired and Blind that explains the statistics and importance of braille literacy, and a little news video featuring students and staff from my school!

Maybe you have guessed that the challenge at Cut it Up is to use embossing on your project, since braille is embossed dots. Here is my project.

P1090770web

I made an explosion box.  I used a leaf throughout called Ollie’s Leaf, which was a freebie from SVG Cuts a couple years ago.

The beautiful peacock image is from our sponsor, Meljen’s Designs.  It’s called Fancy Swirl Peacock.  I’m not very good at coloring stamps, so I printed it out four times to allow for mistakes.  Luckily, I did pretty well on my first shot using Crayola colored pencils.

P1090763webNot wanting to mess it up, I scanned my colored image into my computer and used that.    I printed out one peacock for a base on my box top.  I also brought the colored image into my Silhouette software and made several print and cuts using a thin offset.  I layered some of the cut out images over the printed out one for more depth and dimension.

P1090774webI think it looks really nice on top of the printed out base.

P1090769webFor my embossing, I used the Spots and Dots Cuttlebug folder because it reminds me of the “eyes” on peacocks’ tail feathers!  I wrapped the lid using In the Navy Trendy Twine, made a square knot, tucked the ends under and sealed them there with glue.

P1090767webI placed one more beautiful print and cut peacock in the very center of the inside of the box.

P1090772.webHere is the whole project:

P1090771webThe papers are old Close to My Heart design paper from when I tried to be a consultant.  🙂 I used my corner chomper to make fancy cuts on the page corners.

Now it’s time to head on over to the Cut it Up Challenge Blog and see all the projects the design team members have made to inspire you!  Then link up your own project with a die cut and some embossing for a chance to win 4 digital stamps from Meijen’s Designs!

Evelyn

 

 

 

 

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cut it Up – National Braille Literacy Month

  1. Cely says:

    I read the article and watch the video ….most informative! We have a wonderful school about 20 minutes away from me….in upstate SC . I don’t know if there is another one in SC so you have me interested in looking. I taught and awesome young lady at our regular high school who lost here sight in the 6 pth grade. Laura was amazing. My mouth would drop as I would read her algebra and calculus test and she would tell me what to write if she couldn’t use a machine for certain problems. Because of here we were able to free cutting edge machines in a regular school to help visually impaired students. Some of the machines helped my special needs students who weren’t visually impaired. Now in this day and age, those machines are obsolete with the awesome technology popping up daily. Your card….stunning….a very delicate bird from meljen designs. Your coloring is so sweet using your crayon a pencils . The explosion box….fantastic and now I would like to try to do one for Valentines when I get home from the beach. Raining here but other than today….awesome days in the low 70’s. Temp will drop a little after the rain so we just might build a fire….just because we can…wish I brought my colors and images to play but it’s nice sitting around with old college friends laughing.

Leave a Reply

