DCD Challenge #195 – Color Challenge

This week’s Die Cuttin’ Divas‘ challenge is a little difficult, but I guess that’s what makes it a “challenge!!”  You are to make a Christmas card in non-traditional colors.  That means no red and no green!  P1090342web

P1090340webI had such fun making these.  The backgrounds for each were made with the negative cuts from other projects.  When I finish a project, I usually leave my craft room a total mess, but I can’t work in a messy area.  Before I start something new, I have to put all my paper scraps away – either filed or in the garbage.  The black paper on the bottom card and the white “frame” on the top card were still adhered to my cutting mats as I began a new project one day.  As I scraped them off, I saw possibilities to use the negative space, so I saved them on my desk.

To make the top card, I got a second sheet of white card stock, put strips of black and white washi tape across it and layered the white frame over top.  That stayed on my craft desk for a few weeks.  I kept placing different little paper piecings on top of it, but didn’t like how any of them looked.  My search was over on November 9th, when Miss Kate’s Cuttables offered this adorable file for her freebie!   I made two of them and used them for both of my saved leftovers.

P1090343web

P1090337web

The file also came with tiny snowflakes, and they actually did cut on my Silhouette, but I was unsuccessful taking them off the mat.

Here are the details for this week’s challenge:  Your Christmas project must NOT have red or green on it.  The challenge runs from December 9 to December 15th.

Check out all the other great non-traditional projects from the other Die Cuttin’ Divas’ design team members, then go be challenged yourself!

Evelyn

 

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to DCD Challenge #195 – Color Challenge

  1. Leslie says:

    Evelyn, your cards are so beautiful. This was a fun challenge, really made me think about what colors to use.

    Leslie

  2. Kimberly says:

    Gorgeous cards Evelyn!!! Love the colors you picked and cut!! 🙂

  3. Shelly says:

    So cool Evelyn, really pretty!

  4. What a beautiful image and love the color choices

  5. Migdalia says:

    Absolutely Beautiful!!!
    Have a wonderful day,
    Migdalia
    *Crafting With Creative M*

Leave a Reply

