DCD Challenge #183 – Pirate Day

Yo, ho, ho, and a bottle of . . . M&Ms??  Yup!  We’re celebrating pirates over at Die Cuttin’ Divas this week!!  Here is my little project — it’s Hello Kitty as a Pirate!!  She couldn’t be any cuter, could she??

P1080881webI scored this HK Pirate file a month or so ago at SVG Cutting Files’ 2nd annual Hello Kitty blog hop!  A friend of mine who loves Starbucks’ Frappuccino gave me lots of her empty  bottles awhile ago.  I still have many left and knew I wanted to use my HK Pirate to decorate one of them.  I looked and looked for any black candy to put inside so I could give it for a Halloween gift.  The black candy that I LOVE is black flavored licorice, but my husband pointed out that I’m probably in the minority there.  Not that many people like the black licorice taste, so I should keep looking for something that other people would like.  I found “black chocolate disks” in the bulk candy aisle of my food store.  They’re like M&Ms but I guess another company makes them.  Just as delicious, though!!

P1080880webSo, what do I love about this little file?  Did you ever see a cuter eye patch?  I wonder if Hello lost her eye in a cat fight?!?  Hopefully, she’s just faking it for Halloween.

P1080882webI did manage to get some black licorice in there, though.  It’s the twine!!  I used Black Licorice and Cranberry Trendy Twine to make my bow.  The sentiment on the lid is a stamp from Pink by Design – in their A Haunting We Will Go set.

Check out the projects made by the other design team members, be inspired, then start celebrating Pirate Day yourself!  Link your project to Die Cuttin’ Divas.
Here are the details for this week’s challenge: It begins on September 16, 2014 and ends on September 22, 2014.  Our sponsor is Digital Delights, who is donating a $5 Gift Certificate!

Aaarrrr, Matey!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to DCD Challenge #183 – Pirate Day

  1. Esther says:

    Oh my gosh, Hello Kitty as a pirate – To Cute!!!!!

  2. I’ve done several Hello Kitty sags for my adult friend who loves this kittie. Leaving for beach so maybe I’ll have enough time to join that challenge when I return. As for licorice , I love the black too, but I don’t like the yucky red twistlers or the black. ….just the black jelly beans. And, I also have many of those jars I have been waiting to use. Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. Sandi says:

    HI Ev, the Hello Kitty Pirate is cute. I didn’t have any girls so I don’t get the whole hello Kitty thing. But it is cute.

  4. Migdalia says:

    Simply adorable!! Yummy treat!!
    Have a wonderful day,
    Migdalia
    *Crafting With Creative M*

  5. I love your little kitty pirate. She is so adorable.

  6. Dyanne says:

    Hello! This may be a long shot but is there anyway to get that svg file? I am doing a hk pirate party for my daughters 1st birthday and I can’t find anything anywhere! Please feel free to email me. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

