DCD Challenge #180 – Lions, Tigers, and Bears! (Oh, My!!)

At Die Cuttin’ Divas this week, we were asked to create a project with a lion, a tiger or a bear (or all of them) on it, or something inspired by Wizard of Oz.  I decided to use all three and make a mini album from a Michaels $1.00 chipboard album.

P1080838webP1080840webP1080842web

The lion and tiger come from Jungle Zoo Safari Too by My Scrap Chick.  The bear is My Sunshine Bear from Designs on Cloud 9.  The paper is from Nana’s Kids stack by DCWV.

P1080837webP1080839webP1080841webI wanted all three on the front cover, but didn’t want to do all that paper piecing all over again.  I decided to go with silhouettes. For the bear and the lion, I was able to just “trace” the jpg file using Silhouette Studio software, but the bear file is actually a bear holding a shining sun.  What I did was assemble his pieces on my virtual mat and weld them together.

bearThat really worked out, because when I welded all three of them together, they look like they have their hands on each other’s shoulders! They could be walking down the yellow brick road!

P1080836web

I downloaded Oz Wizard Cowardly Lion font from Fontspace for the title.

P1080834webYou should see the fantastic projects made by the Die Cuttin’ Divas design team members.  They’re sure to inspire you!  And if you need a little more inspiration, you can look at this old post of mine here.   Years ago, my daughter played Dorothy in a school play and I created a mini album for her.  I was able to make the main characters using the Paper Dolls Dress Up Cricut cartridge.  They turned out pretty cute!

Here are the details for this week’s challenge.  It begins August 26, 2014, ends: September 1, 2014.  The prize is a $5 Gift Certificate from Digital Delights!  How delightful!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DCD Challenge #180 – Lions, Tigers, and Bears! (Oh, My!!)

  1. Ok….I’m headed to Michael’s this morning. I’ve never made anything like what you did and love it. My grand daughter will be one soon. I worry about the rings though…how safe they are . I want to work with some type of chipboard ..cheap because I know she will tear it up. Your reject is adorable.

  2. Migdalia says:

    1.00 chipboard album? I have to check that out when I am in Michaels!!Totally cute and fun!!!
    Have a wonderful day,
    Migdalia
    *Crafting With Creative M*

  3. Gerda says:

    What a super cute mini album!!! Love it!! Have a great day.
    Gerda

Leave a Reply

