DCD Challenge #178 – Favorite Color Combination

EEEEKK!!!  Guess what??   I’m honored to be the newest diva at Die Cuttin’ Divas!  I can’t tell you how excited I am to be part of this amazing team.  Could you tell?? Smiling from ear to ear.

This week’s theme is favorite color combination.  I have had a few favorite colors in my life.  When I was young, my favorite color was blue.  It may have had something to do with laying on the ground looking up at the sky.  My current favorite is brown for tree trunks and soil, but I do have a love affair with orange!

For my project, I decided to make a birthday card for my brother.  He restores antique cars for a hobby.  The one he’s currently working on is an old VW bug, which he painted blue.  He lives in Florida but was recently up for a visit and was showing us photos of this latest  project.  That was my initial inspiration for color.  Then I checked with my trusty color wheel and found out that orange, green and blue work together.  Two out of three ain’t bad!

P1080418web

I chose this adorable VW bug from the Locker Talk Cricut cartridge.  This became the inside of the card.  The card base and font used to say Happy Birthday are both from Wild Card.

Now here’s the outside:

P1080417web

Again, the words are made with the font included on the Wild Card cartridge.  For all the words, I used the kerning feature (at -12) to scooch the letters together so I could weld them.

I was just going to use the phrase beep beep on the front, but it looked really empty, so I decided to put in a little background.  I found this road and mountains on the Everyday Paper Dolls cartridge.  (See how I worked in that third favorite color?  he he!!)  This is what I did to make the white lines in the road:

P1080415webP1080416web

 

beep-beepWeb

When I made the card, I didn’t feel like using the hide element feature on the gypsy, so I just cut everything out with orange, blue, and green paper.  Then I sat down and mixed and matched until I got three cars that I liked and picked the blue one for my brother’s birthday card.  That leaves me two left for quick future projects!!  🙂

P1080456webWhat are your favorite colors?  What color combination to you like creating with?  We’d love to see!!  Link your project at Die Cuttin’ Divas this week!

Evelyn

 

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to DCD Challenge #178 – Favorite Color Combination

  1. Tina H says:

    This is so cute! I love how you made the extras for future use! I know that will come in handy. Great color mix and I love all the elements of your card 🙂

  2. Gerda says:

    Evelyn welcome to the DCD team!!! This card is super cute!! Love it!! Have a great day.
    Gerda

  3. Migdalia says:

    Super cute & fun!! Congrats to you!!

  4. sherrie says:

    So cute! Love the color combination and design! Congrats on being a Diva:)
    Sherrie K

  5. I LOVE this…I really LOVE this. How super that you cut out it all and got 3 different cards. I dated my first heart throb in a baby blue bug. I had the newest bug which was red. It was so much fun, but alas I sold it since I haul so much stuff…but fun fun fun it was! I have all the elements except the cartridge that has the bug. Gosh…I really love these cards. Kudos to your brother who restores them.

Leave a Reply

