Cut it Up – Inspired by a song

CIU challenge blogWere you ever inspired by a song?  That’s the theme this week at Cut it Up Challenge Blog.  I was the design team member who came up with this theme, and was annoyingly surprised that nothing was coming to me. 😦

Then when my husband and I were traveling and listening to music on the iPod, I put the Simon and Garfunkel 59th Street Bridge Song on repeat.  It’s so much fun to sing!  And I remembered my Groovy Times Cricut cartridge and actually was inspired by a song.  I was Feelin’ Groovy!  Slow down, you’re moving too fast!  You’ve got to make the morning last . . .

I chose the Peace Sign on page 60 to make some birthday cards.

P1080813webI used a sketch from Operation Write Home again.  They have a fantastic 6 x 6 “one sheet wonder” kind of cutting formula here, but it’s many sheets, not one.  I used Dotty for You CTMH retired paper (wish they still had this.  I’d buy a dozen packs to keep on hand!);  Maya Road twine cording in Ginger Root Brown (thought it looked 60-ish.  It reminded me of macrame.); and Recollections brads.

I popped up the peace sign.

P1080815webFor the inside I used Hobo Std. font filled with a rainbow on the “Label”  file from the Silhouette Store (#56771)

P1080818webCheck out what the other Design Team Members came up with for this challenge at Cut it Up, then be inspired yourself.  We’d love to see what songs inspire your work!  You have until August 20 to link up your project.  Our sponsor this time is Fleurette Bloom, who is donating a $10 Gift Card!

Evelyn

 

 

 

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cut it Up – Inspired by a song

  1. I know that peace sign was definitely MY generation. I see you are staying on your mission. Using one cricut cartridge a week…bravo! And, I truly enjoy your card and the song!

  2. junehouck says:

    That is the song that I am singing in my head whenever I see your card. I didn’t remember that was the title of the song, but it’s been awhile 🙂 Your card definitely has me “feelin’ groovy.”

Leave a Reply

