Ice cream cart card

P1080268webI saw this adorable ice cream cart file at Designs on Cloud 9 and just had to make it up into a shaped card.  Sometimes you just know!  I’ve never seen an ice cream cart this cute in real life, but I’d buy a cone if this one came my way.

This file did not have a base svg to build on.  This is how I solved that problem:

First I brought the png file into Silhouette studio and enlarged it to the size I wanted.

Bring in the png file.

bring in the png file

Next I brought in the svg file, placed it over the png and dragged the corner until the umbrella part of the svg exactly covered the umbrella part of the png.

Bring in svg file. Place it over the png and size it.

Bring in svg file. Place it over the png and size it.

I moved the svg file aside.  I traced the png file.  Now I had a base to start with.

Trace png.

Trace png.

To make the card base, I first made an offset of the trace.

Make offset.

Make offset.

 

Here is the offset.

Here is the offset.

See that little hole to the left of the Umbrella pole?  I didn’t want that hole.

Release compound path.

Release compound path.

Choose Object, release compound path.  Move the main image over and delete the little hole.

Filled with color so you can see better.

Filled with color so you can see better.

(I filled the image with color so you can see it better.)

Mirror to the right.

Mirror to the right.

I mirrored the image to the right.  (Also filled with brown so you can distinguish between the original and the mirrored image.)  If I stopped here and made this into the card base, there would be no place for me to stamp my sentiment, so this is what I did.

Use the knife.

Use the knife.

I used the knife to extract that little piece in the middle.

Discard the unwanted pieces of the cart.

Discard the unwanted pieces of the cart.

Discard the umbrella and the bottom part of the cart.  I don’t need those.

Move the piece onto the cart.

Move the piece onto the cart.

When I moved the brown piece onto the cart, it didn’t exactly fit. I needed to make it just a little bigger:

Stretch the piece to fit.

Stretch the piece to fit.

I stretched the piece to fit nicely.

Choose both pieces, group and weld.

Choose both pieces, group and weld.

Merge the pieces by choosing them both, group and weld.  Now I can make my card base.

Mirror image to the left.

Mirror image to the left.

I mirrored the card to the left.

Nudge the cards to overlap.

Nudge the cards to overlap.

I nudged the left image to overlap the right.  You see how the umbrella is overlapped but there’s a space between the two carts?  That would be a really weak fold for the card, so I needed to get the two carts together.  If I nudged them together even more, the carts would overlap, but the umbrellas would be overlapped too much.  So . . .

Add rounded rectangle.

Add rounded rectangle.

I added a rounded rectangle between them.

Group and weld.

Group and weld.

Select both carts and the rounded rectangle, group and weld.  There’s my card base!!

P1080268webI used the Swiss Dots embossing file for the umbrella and the cone.  The “Sweet” sentiment is from the My Pink Stamper Winter Punnies set.

I thought it turned out cute!!  And, of course, I made four of them  🙂

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

