Happy summer and a personal challenge

P1080448webThis morning as I was enjoying my third cup of coffee, I decided to browse through my bookmarks.  I save bookmarks of crafters’ blogs that I like in little groups of 5 – 10 then choose “Open All in Tabs” to catch up on what everybody’s doing.  It keeps my inbox from clogging up.  In my “Stamping/Inspiration 3” group, I came across this site, Simplicity.  One of the tabs on her block is called Use Your Stamps Challenge.  I read that and decided  to start a challenge for myself called the Cricut Cartridge Challenge.  I counted this morning and I have 55 cartridges!  They don’t get used as often as they should, mainly because it’s so much easier to use the Silhouette software and svgs.  My computer screen is MUCH LARGER than my Gypsy screen and that makes it easier to see.  But I really do like using my Gypsy; I love how it cuts.  I never seem to get a bad cut when my machine is connected to the Gypsy. When using my Gypsy, I always have the handbook PDF open on my computer for reference.

So my personal challenge is to use each cartridge I own and keep track so I know I have done it!  I kind of did this last summer, but I am going to give myself a year this time.  I figure about one per week ought to do it.  Susan from the Simplicity site is going to use every image from each stamp set that she has.  I’m not going to cut every image from each cartridge, but I will do at least one cut from each.

So here’s my first one, from one of my newest cartridges, Summer Celebrations:

P1080449webI CASE’d this card that I found on google images, but can’t find it on the web site that it links to.  I like how the crafter put the word HAPPY into the sun’s rays.  You’ll notice the yellow polka dot papers are slightly different — the top card is from my scraps stash and the bottom one is CTMH Dotty for You paper that I still have from a year or two ago.

P1080451webThe cards fit perfectly into business size envelopes (#10.)  They were easy and fun to put together.  And they’re already on their way to their recipients!

Evelyn

 

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy summer and a personal challenge

  1. katie brooks says:

    LOVE this shape!!!!!

  2. Tina H says:

    What a great idea! I have over a hundred cartridges and have yet to use half of them, lol! Great card, I wish I had this cartridge 🙂

  3. Hummmm….. I haven’t received mine yet…lol. Love it! Does it open from the top over the “p”? Second problem….don’t have that cartridge or cutter anymore…haha. Guess I could design mine. I LOVE LOVE your card! Good luck on your personal challenge.

    • Evelyn says:

      Yes, it opens over the top “p.”
      I kept my Cricut stuff and just added the Silhouette. I think Provocraft made a huge mistake by not letting 3rd party software use their machines, but didn’t want to cut off my nose to spite my face. I like a lot of the images on their cartridges. 🙂

Leave a Reply

