Principals’ Day mini 2014

You know how I can’t pass up a bargain, right?  So I have about three packs of this Back to School 4.5 x 6.5 card stock that was on clearance at Michaels.  Every time I went into Michaels, there it was.  I figured I work at a school, so I could really make use of it.  I bought it every time . . .

I was determined to make a dent in it, so I decided to make a little mini-album for our school principal using this card stock.  The little accents were leftovers from Echo Park Paper and Glue pack, which I also had on hand.  (I used the cover from the EP pack to make these cards.)

P1080243webpaper and glue pack

I again drew my inspiration from Ginger from My Sister’s Scrapper.  I incorporated several of her design ideas in this mini, and I’ll describe them below.

P1070973web

This mini album is a pocket page style album.  Each page has a little pocket on the side with an insert that looks like this:

P1070978webI don’t have the retired Stampin’ Up tab punch that Ginger has (wish I did!) so I used a square punch instead to make the tabs.

P1070977web

Little triangles hold other elements, such as tags from the EP pack.  I made  a little fold-out book and put a belly band around it for the page on the right.

P1070976webHere are the next two pages, which incorporate another of Ginger’s ideas — gluing an element on two sides so you can tuck other things behind it.  Following Ginger’s lead, I adhered the elements to card stock for added strength and definition.

P1070979webP1070980webThe next page has a small strip of paper glued on three sides to become a little pocket for a mini-within-a-mini:

P1070981webP1070982web

The last pages are plain to add photos and journaling:

P1070983webP1070984web Here’s the back cover:

P1070985webOther ideas of Ginger’s that I incorporated are 1) using black card stock for the base, and 2) the idea of using all the papers and elements in the pack.  I had made a mini album for my student teacher using the Echo Park papers and had leftover elements that I challenged myself to use up!

I’m on a mini-album kick, totally inspired by Ginger from My Sister’s Scrapper.  If you haven’t discovered her already, you should go and check out her blog.  She’s so generous with her tutorials!  Thanks for the inspiration!!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Principals’ Day mini 2014

  1. Ginger says:

    Evelyn, your mini turned out fabulous! Super cute! Great idea using a square punch for your tabs.

  2. Susie says:

    Love this! Such a great mini!

    Susie

  3. katie brooks says:

    so how many of these bad boys did you make and did you use all the paper? They really are awesome and a gift to treasure. You are so thoughtful!

Leave a Reply

