DCD Guest Post – Things with Wings!

Isn’t that the cutest title?  I’m a guest designer on Die Cuttin’ Divas this week for that fabulous theme.  There is SO MUCH to choose from!!!  My mind has been racing for weeks trying to narrow down my options and finally decide what I wanted to do.  I originally thought fairies, because I love fairies and never have a good reason to cut them out.  I don’t know how many times I’ve been tempted to buy the Tinkerbell cartridge when it comes on sale, but really.  What is a 50-something going to do with a Tinkerbell cartridge?  But she’s so darn cute!!

Anyway, the perfect project presented itself when my friend from work told me what her children got her for Mothers’ Day.  She had always wanted to raise bees so that’s what they got her!  She’s going to have honeybees!  That’s so cool.  I decided to make her a card with my new Garden Soup cartridge (BTW – great cartridge!!  You should pick it up when you can.)  Then, yesterday (as I type this) my husband suggested we go to our local farmers’ market and out to breakfast and someone was selling local honey.  I put two and two together and came up with this:

P1080088webFor the paper, I dabbed Tim Holtz Vintage Photo Distress Ink onto my Cuttlebug Honeycomb embossing folder, spritzed with water then pressed my paper onto it as seen here.   The tag itself is from the Art Philosophy cartridge, but when I cut it out it looked too wide for me, so I snipped off both sides and rounded the bottom corners.  The bees and hive are from the aforementioned Garden Soup cartridge.  When I cut the top layer of the beehive, it looked too plain, so I inked the Cuttlebug Forest Branches embossing folder with the distress ink and ran it through for some texture and color.  I like how it looks!

P1080089web

I popped the bees up on dimensionals.

P1080090webWrapped a ribbon from my stash and it’s finished.

P1080094webI can’t wait to see what everybody does for this cool, broad theme at Die Cuttin’ Divas.

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DCD Guest Post – Things with Wings!

  1. Susie says:

    Beautiful!!! What a neat gift idea.

    On a knitting note…still working on my afghan. I have to admit with the Summer heat, its a slow process. Hope you are still knitting too!

  2. Pat N. says:

    I think your tag was perfect for this challenge! Love the beehive and how you texturized it–very realistic! And the honeycomb paper is terrific too. Great project; love it! Thanks for being our guest Diva again!!

  3. junehouck says:

    This tag is as sweet as you!

Leave a Reply

