Cut it Up – Summer Vacation

CIU challenge blogWoo, hoo!!  It’s summer! (or almost.)

Our theme for this challenge at Cut it Up is Summer Vacation.  I, for one, can’t wait for it to begin!

This card is inspired by road trips.  Someone I love very much is going on a huge road trip this summer.  (You know who you are!!)  I’m going to surprise her with this going away card.  (Surprise!)  I’m disappointed in my photos, though.  In person, the colors are bright and pretty, but I can’t seem to capture them . . .

P1080086web

Maybe this picture is better:

P1080099webAnyhow, for the sunburst, I dabbed yellow and orange ink onto my Tim Holtz Rays embossing folder, spritzed it with water, and laid my paper on top to absorb the ink.  I dried it with my heat gun.  Then I added the Lemon Tart Trendy Twine that was so generously provided by one of our sponsors, Annie’s Paper Boutique.  I just taped that on the front (under the die cut) and the back.  The patterned paper is from the DCWV Lemon Flower stack; Enjoy the Journey is the phrase on page 34 of 3 Birds on Parade; and the mat is from Art Philosophy.  I also dabbed yellow and orange ink onto the phrase because it didn’t stand out as well as I had wanted it to.

We have two sponsors for our challenge again this week,  Trendy Twine, who donated a sample package of 3 colors of twine, and Artful Delights, who donated a card kit.

PrizeArtfulDelightsTrendy Twine

Please stop by Cut it Up and link your Summer Vacation inspired projects!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cut it Up – Summer Vacation

  1. Migdalia says:

    I saw a tutorial on how to make a sunburst card out of scarps which I am going to work on ..Just thought of it while I was looking at your Beautiful card!
    Have a wonderful day,
    Migdalia
    *Crafting With Creative M*

  2. katie brooks says:

    THIS. IS. FABULOUS. that is all…. oh no wait, I have to say, I love how you incorporated the twine into the rays, brilliant!

Leave a Reply

