Cut it Up – National Craft Month!

CIU challenge blogAnything goes for the National Craft Month challenge at Cut it Up Challenge Blog!  so I decided to stretch my wings.

Inspired by my Design Team sister, Karen, who does beautiful things with wood, I bought a wooden heart way back in January for use in our Valentine’s Day challenge.  My plan was to decoupage it with strips of Valentine’s Day paper and then put a die cut on it.  Since I don’t have any Modge Podge, I mixed equal parts of Elmer’s Glue and water and slathered it all over my wooden heart and started to apply my paper.  Needless to say, that was a failure.  Everything came peeling off as soon as it dried, so I got mad at my wooden heart and threw it in a box intended for my school’s art class.  I’m a little lazy, so that box is still on my craft room floor.  The wooden heart kept calling my name . . .

I will conquer wood!  I fished it out and put it on my desk waiting for inspiration.

Something else happened in the meantime.  I received my box of goodies that I ordered from Sami at SP & Co, and it included a ziplock bag full of buttons!  Some were the same colors as the washi tape that’s occupying space in my craft room.  An idea!!  Here’s a way for me to use some of my washi tape AND my new buttons!!

P1070795webBut I also needed a die cut, and I looked at my flower svgs and found this one that was a freebie from A Little Hut.

P1070794webA little hot glue from my long-neglected hot glue gun and voila!  I think it’s pretty!  The colors are so fresh and really remind me of spring.  It’s much cuter than if it had been covered with pinks and reds for Valentine’s Day, and these colors look so much nicer in my yellow craft room anyway.  (I secretly think the wooden heart rejected the Valentine paper because it aspired to something more suited to it, and me.)

We have two sponsors for this challenge, BugBites-The Creative Buzz, who is donating the Candy Speaks Stamp Set, AND Die-Versions, who are donating a $15 gift certificate!
The Cut it Up Design Team really rocked this Anything Goes challenge.  Go check out their projects, then make something — anything — and link it up!  Can’t wait to see what you create for National Craft Month!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cut it Up – National Craft Month!

  1. Migdalia says:

    This is really GORGEOUS!! Love the cheerful colors!!! Just visited A little hut!! Great place!!

  2. Kim McNair says:

    Great use of washi tape, I’m always looking for creative ways to use it. Love the colors.

  3. junehouck says:

    Evelyn, this is a beautiful wood & washi project! I am so happy you salvaged it from the previous project and it is off your craft room floor. I have lots of experience with salvaging a project/getting things off my craft room floor! * sigh* In fact, I think you have inspired me to see what I can get off my craft room floor and to create 🙂

  4. sherrie says:

    Gorgeous project! LOVE the bright colors! The washi tape is so fun- I really need to use that more! TFS!
    Sherrie K

  5. katie brooks says:

    This is so fun and bright, it really makes me smile! I love the washi too!

  6. dsmiles2 says:

    Love how you conquered your wooden heart even if it was using completely different product than originally planned! Actually, your heart is cute as can be – so brightly colored, the way a heart should be, and those flowers and buttons are darling! Thanks for sharing! hugs, de http://creativesmiles2.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

