St. Patrick’s Day cards

P1070810webSt. Patrick’s Day is Monday so I made some cards to send out to family.  I used Teddy Bear Parade for the bear.  Actually, I had made lots and lots of naked 3″ bears at one point and still had plenty left for this project, so all I had to do was dress him up!  I used glitter glue on his hat buckle and the pot of gold.

P1070812web

For the base, I used a freebie from 2011 from Svgcuts.  In Silhouette Design Studio, I sized the base to 4 inches high and then mirrored it to the right, nudged them together and welded.   To make the “inside” of the card, I used the rectangle tool to place a rectangle right over the opening between the rainbow and the clouds, then welded.

basewebTo make the blue mat for the inside, I copied this whole piece, used the knife tool to disconnect the front from the back on the copy and discarded the front.  Then I made an Internal Offset, and cut that in light blue.  I made Internal Offsets of the clouds, too, to put inside the card.

P1070813webYou wouldn’t think so, but the clouds are not congruent  (That’s a math term!  It means identical in form.  I learned that word in high school, but was reminded of it at lunch the other day, so SCORE!  I get to actually use a “new” word!!)  so I had to really pay attention to get the right clouds in the right positions on the card.

One thing I would change if I made this card again is the size of the pot of gold.  I made the leprechauns’ outfits and the pots of told before I figured out what kind of card I wanted to make.  The gold was intended to be held in the leprechaun’s hand, so it’s really small.  It needs to be bigger for where I placed it, but I ran out of time and had to get the cards in the mail, so . . .

P1070814webIt was fun to make nonetheless!

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to St. Patrick’s Day cards

  1. Migdalia says:

    I just woke up a few minutes a go and have a cup of coffee in my hand. I decided to look through my email and saw your post…this is so Stinkin cute!! Love this adorable shaped card!

Leave a Reply

