Cut it Up Through the Woods

CIU challenge blogWhat a fun challenge!! The theme this time at Cut it Up Challenge Blog is entitled Through the Woods.  The first thing I thought of when I read that was “Over the river and through the woods to Grandmother’s house we go.”  Then I got this adorable Red Riding Hood from Miss Kate’s Cuttables, and I knew just what to do!

P1070446web I brought the svg into the Silhouette Design Studio, made an offset of her and welded her to a rectangle to make the base of my card.  Because the details on the face are so tiny, I decided to print and cut the body and face.

P1070449webThe tree silhouettes were a freebie from SVGcuts.com, still available here.

I wanted the background to look dark and mottled.  This is how I did it:

P1070438webFirst, I masked off the Red Riding hood on my card.  Then I smeared distress ink onto wax paper and squirted it with water.  I pressed the card onto the ink a few times until it was covered nicely, then removed the masking tape:

P1070439webThis was my first time using this technique.  I think it turned out great, and looks good behind my trees.

P1070448web851_660516590654772_577188510_nWe’re being sponsored by Scrappy Moms this time.  The winner gets a stamp set of her choice!

So, what does the theme “Through the Woods” mean?   You can use a wood grain embossing folder, wood grain papers, tree die cuts, woodland creatures, a log fire, anything that “wood” evokes.  You should head on over to Cut it Up to see all the cool things the other ladies thought of!!   Then put your thinking cap on and link up a project of your own.

Have fun with it!  I did!!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cut it Up Through the Woods

  1. Cely(Carolina Girl) says:

    Love love love…I think I missed this free cut file file this time around. I love when you can see an image and know exactly the scene you want to create.

  2. cindymesser says:

    Great card! Love the red riding hood idea–it’s prefect for the challenge! That technique is really cool, too!

  3. Migdalia says:

    I just Love your Super cute & Fun card! The girl is ADORABLE!!

  4. Katie Brooks says:

    Little red is sooooooooooooooooooooooo cute!!! This makes me smile!

  5. Susie says:

    OMG!! She is so super cute and that woodland scene in awesome!!! Great card!!

    Susie

  6. June Houck says:

    I am glad you liked this challenge…your brain totally matched my thinking when I created the challenge title. Your Red Riding Hood girl is adorable and I love how you have her offset on the card and the woods. PERFECT!!!

Leave a Reply

