Quick SCAL tutorial

who-loves2Here is a quick tutorial to show how I made this title in Sure Cuts a Lot.  You can click on the pictures to make them a little bigger and easier to see.

The font is LD Modern Cursive.  “loves being a dad” is just typed in MS Word and printed.

I don’t know how it works on a PC, but on my Mac, activated fonts are available for use in any program that uses fonts, so LD Modern Cursive was in SCAL.

1.  Using the text tool, I typed my sentiment:

Untitled-1

2.  I changed to the arrow tool and chose SHADOW 2.0 and WELD.  This makes my text a nice thickness for cutting, and welds the letters together so they are connected, not individual letters cut out.  I like using script fonts because it’s less work to adhere a word than individual letters.

Untitled-2

3.  I copied and pasted my text again and applied a bigger shadow to it to use under the first cut as the shadow.

Untitled-3

That’s it!  It’s really easy in SCAL and you can use any font on your computer and add any shadow.

Hope that helps!

Evelyn

 

 

 

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quick SCAL tutorial

  1. Okie Dokie…that was a big help and never thought of doing that….very clever and will use the technique….thanks so much for the tutorial and all the time it took to do it.

  2. Maxine says:

    Today, I went to the beachfront with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old
    daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.

    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic
    but I had to tell someone!

Leave a Reply

