Patriotic cards

My son is serving overseas and I want to send him a card every week.  I saw these beautiful stamps from Close to My Heart and thought they would make some great cards for him, so I bought them to play around with.

Home of the Brave stamp set

Home of the Brave stamp set

Courage stamp set

Courage stamp set

One thing I don’t really like about stamping is that if you want to pop the image up, you have to cut it out by hand.  I’m not that great a cutter, so I really liked it when CTMH issued the two Cricut cartridges, Art Philosophy and Artiste and the stamps they made to go with some of the cuts.  You cut out the shape perfectly with the Cricut, then stamp on it.  Pretty cool, but these particular stamps don’t appear on any Cricut cartridges, so I made my own svgs to go with three of them.  Here are the cards I made with the stamps and my svgs:

P1060307webP1060300webP1060303webAs you can see, I also made svgs for the shadows because I like that look.

P1060301web   P1060302web  P1060304web

I didn’t have an acrylic block large enough for the flag pole or the lady liberty stamps, but you know what?  You don’t need one!  You can use a CD case!

P1060299webIf you have these stamp sets and would like to have the svgs I made to go with them, you can click these links:

Liberty stamp svgLiberty shadow svgCourage stamp svgCourage shadow svg; flag stamp svg; flag shadow svg

If you would like to purchase them and don’t already have a Close to My Heart consultant, you can order from my online site by clicking here or on the CTMH button on the right.  These stamps are a limited release and will only be available for purchase until July 31.  Close to My Heart is donating $3.00 from each Courage stamp set and $5.00 from each Home of the Brave stamp set to the USO.
There is also a Canadian version whose proceeds go to the Canadian Hero Fund, but I don’t have that one, so I didn’t make an svg for it.  Love that Mounite, though!

Strong and Free stamp set

Strong and Free stamp set

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Paper Crafting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Patriotic cards

  1. Wonderful patriotic cards that will surely make your son smile. Getting a letter from home just being away at college was everything to me….no interent or cell phones for contact and a phone call was expensive. The two sets of stamps have so much variety which is proven by all your great cards.

  2. Tami says:

    Wow you’ve been busy creating all the fabulous projects for today’s challenge. I love your banners.

  3. Migdalia says:

    Beautiful Patriotic cards!! Love it!!

Leave a Reply

