New home card

My daughter and son-in-law are moving this weekend.  Their new homestead is a fourteen acre property at the top of a 3,800 foot mountain in West Virginia.  It’s absolutely gorgeous!  It’s very serene and rugged with a pond, lots of red spruce trees, and fruit trees.  You can read more about it and their adventures here on Scratch Cradle.

The house was formerly a hunting lodge, and they’re making it into a home.  I’m telling you all this because there’s an interesting fact about their property: the fourth-largest bear ever shot in WV was taken on there.

Which leads me to my card:

P1060077webP1060081webThis is the sentiment I put on the inside:

but my hopes have already been dashed. . .

They have been visited by bears several times in the last few weeks as they’re gradually moving their belongings over there.  I bought them some of those cans full of noise that people use at sporting events (actually found in the boating aisle at Walmart!!  Who knew??) for them to keep on their front porch and to bring with them as they walk around the property.

Here’s a close up of the bear:

P1060079webIt’s a little out of focus . . .

The file was called Bear in Barrow from Little Scraps of Heaven Designs.  It was a freebie, but I don’t see it on her site now.

Have a great weekend!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New home card

  1. What a wonderful story about their move to a beautiful place…..bears and all. WOW…going to the link to read more. I got the biggest giggle out of your card. Love the entire composition.

  2. Shirley says:

    Super cute card – thanks for the link, she had some good chicken raising tips on there to read about.

Leave a Reply

