Cut it Up Make it a Mini!

CIU challenge blogIt’s a miniature challenge this week at Cut it Up Challenge Blog!  The theme is Make it a Mini!  A mini what, you ask??  Anything mini.  We’re looking for anything small – note cards, mini albums, magnets . . .  You get the picture, right?

I used an old freebie from Lettering Delights called Banner Day.  The set included an alphabet, paper pack, clip art, frames, even a mini album.  I got the svgs to go along with it.  The svgs are the same images that are in the rest of the collection.  I decided to make a mini mini-album!  P1060135web

It’s just 3.5 inches!  It all started with the idea of making a mini mini.  Who would appreciate something so small?  My dolls, of course!!  So I brought them outside for a photo shoot.  (Who says fifty-somethings can’t play with dolls?)

Then I inserted their pictures into the Banner Day mini album pngs and printed them out at three inches.  After all the pages were printed out, I measured the boots, lamp post, and other elements, opened the matching svg files and cut them out the same sizes.  I placed the paper piecings on top of the printed images to give it some depth!

Here are the inside pages:

P1060136webP1060137webP1060142webP1060145web

Here are some closeups of the cuts.  I also used old stickers here and there.

P1060138web     P1060140web     P1060144webP1060146web

My husband was freaked out by my little mini.  He doesn’t really like my dolls (imagine that!)  but I have had them a lifetime and couldn’t part with my old friends.

My dolls, on the other hand, really enjoyed their scrapbook.  They spend a lot of time looking at it:

P1060147web  P1060149web

Stop over at Cut it Up Challenges to see the other design team members’ creative ideas, then it’ll be your turn to show us your minis!  Whether you enjoy making mini albums, or have some other small project in mind, we want to see what you come up with!  Join us at Cut it Up Challenges!  One lucky entrant will win this prize:

prize-web

Hope to see your mini there!!

Evelyn

About Evelyn

I created this little blog so that I could have a place to show different crafts that I make for my family, my friends, my students, and myself! I have always enjoyed crafting. I particularly love paper, and that's what I'm currently working with.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Cut it Up Make it a Mini!

  1. Craftymrs says:

    Aww lol I love the inside!!

  2. Cely (Carolina Girl) says:

    So enjoyed the walk-through of your mini album! I thought….where did she get the pics of the older Barbies…until I read on. I never ever had a Barbie. I was never into dolls, but the “one” doll I wanted and I just wanted “one” was a Barbie. Never got it! I think I need to see a psycho therapist able this…haha It’s always haunted/bothered me…haha However, I loved playing with all the neat tools my brothers use to get and toss aside my doll house. Humm….they gave me a doll house, but no dolls…haha

  3. Migdalia says:

    I am seriously In LOVE with this mini..Love how you placed photos of barbie’s and the adorable embellishments as well. I too never had a Barbie. My mom would always buy us dolls with strollers and tea sets. I love those.I am still laughing over the dolls holding the mini..LOVE it! One of my FAVORITES forever!!

  4. Kim McNair says:

    This is too cute, I think. I did recently see an episode of My Strange Addiction, ha ha!
    The dolls need to enjoy our hobby as well.

  5. Karen says:

    What a cute mini album! Such a fun idea to put the pictures of Barbie and Ken inside! Love it! 🙂

    Karen
    craftedwithlovebykaren.blogspot.com

  6. Tami says:

    Awe, I can relate to this. I loved, loved, loved my barbie dolls. What a clever and fun idea.

Leave a Reply

